Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.

The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, web-based archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.

Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society. Most are American magazines with a few Canadian and British Empire titles. Contains early publications in many subjects; religion, medicine, science and technology, agriculture, music, art, education, and business as well as publications focusing on children, women, Native Americans and African-Americans.

Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection this database offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Ephemera include early trade cards, theater playbills, stock certificates, menus and invitations, popular songs and music, and poetry. American Broadsides and Ephemera can be searched as a single collection, or combined with other resources in the Archive of Americana.

This collection traces the progress of American History and extensively covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History holds one of the outstanding collections on American History. It is full of individual items, but it also has rich veins of manuscript research material. This makes it ideal for teaching survey courses on American History, but equally valuable as a platform for undergraduate essay work and postgraduate research.

Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.

An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world

A family of primary source historical collections covering nearly three centuries of American History. The resources can be searched together or separately. Currently includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints from the disnguished bibliography created by Charles Evans. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Bbooks, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. America's Historical Newspapers Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 present states.

Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound catalog include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

A searchable full-text collection of hundreds of papers selected by U.S. states as part of the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Dates range from 1789 to 1922, but available content varies for each newspaper. Searches can be limited by state, newspaper, language, or date. The site also includes a separately searchable newspaper directory which provides information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Directory searches can be used to identify newspapers by place of publication, date, keyword, frequency, language, and type of newspaper.

Contains original documents exchanged between the governors of British colonies in North America and the Caribbean and the Colonial Office in Britain. Among the correspondence are diaries, maps, broadsides, laws, public notices, newspaper clippings, and more covering all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history. Many of the documents are handwritten and are not keyword searchable. They can be searched by date, name, region and topics including; early settlements, Native Americans, Trade, Wars, Slavery and the slave trade. Penn State has access to Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries and Module 2: Towards Revolution 3: The American Revolution 4: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies Module 5: Growth, Trade and Development

Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) consists of digitized facsimiles of publications produced in the American colonies and the early United States. Derived from entries listed in Charles Evans's American Bibliography, and supplemented from other sources, it includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides on many topics, and is a fundamental resource for early American history, literature, philosophy, and religion.

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to some 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early nineteenth century. The works cover all aspects of American life, including scientific thought, religion, politics, arts and literature, economics, Indian relations, military affairs, Westward expansion and more. The database is based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, supplemented by thousands of newly identified items. The database continues the Early American Imprints: Series I, 1639-1800.

A large collection of historical back issues of U.S. and some international news sources. Includes content that is accessible for free and content that requires a fee. Note: No longer being updated and content before 1970 can only be browsed, not searched. For pre-1970 topics users can browse available newspapers at http://news.google.com/newspapers. Topics since 1970 can be found searching "regular" Google using a keyword and the following phrase: site:news.google.com/newspapers. Example, roe wade 1973

Provides a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material.

Full-text database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

The American National Biography Online offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The online version reproduces the full-text of the original 24 volume set published in 1999, with new and updated entries added regularly. The online edition features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.

This new and growing database covers authors from all genres and time periods. Entries provide a good starting point for students by providing a general essay and biographical information. In addition to the essay there are references to primary and further critical information. All entries are written by scholars and academic specialists.

An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of noteworthy men and women who shaped Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000