Library Guides: AMST 500: Theory and Methods: Popular Culture

Sources for Popular Culture

Alice Marshall Women's History Collection - Flickr Albums
Follow this link to view selected albums on Flickr, which features digitized images of advertisements, comic and sentimental/romantic valentines, pin-back buttons, posters, postcards, sheet music, and more from the Alice Marshall Women's History Collection in Archives and Special Collections at the Penn State Harrisburg Library. This online image gallery is a useful primary resource for students and researchers especially in American Studies.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world

Museum of Pop Culture (MoPOP)
Formerly known as the Experience Museum Project and Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame (EMP|SFM), the Museum of Pop Culture (MoPOP) was founded by Microsoft co-founder, Paul Allen, in the year 2000. MoPop features numerous exhibits that focus on many aspects of pop culture including the art of fantasy, horror films, science fiction literature, and video games.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Popular Culture in Britain and America explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.By focussing on substantial collections of original archival material – manuscript, typescript and ephemera – from key libraries in Britain and America – Adam Matthew provides the primary sources that will enable students and scholars to examine these issues in detail and at first hand: Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975 Youth Culture Student Protests Mai ‘68 Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups The Space Race Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers Vietnam War Nuclear Disarmament

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages is a full-text online library of rock music journalism published since 1960, including reviews, interviews, and features on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, from over 100 of the most influential magazines and newspapers, including Cashbox, Creem, Crawdaddy!, Melody Maker, Mojo, Spin, Uncut, and Vibe.
Rock's Backpages is a full-text online library of rock music journalism published since 1960, including reviews, interviews, and features on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, from over 100 of the most influential magazines and newspapers, including Cashbox, Creem, Crawdaddy!, Melody Maker, Mojo, Spin, Uncut, and Vibe.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing, including theory, preservation and restoration; writing, production, cinematography; production and film and television reviews.
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing, including theory, preservation and restoration; writing, production, cinematography; production and film and television reviews. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience including film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, and more as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.

eBay.com
eBay Inc. is a global commerce leader that connects millions of buyers and sellers around the world.
Entertainment Weekly
Entertainment Weekly is an American monthly entertainment magazine based in New York City, published by Meredith Corporation, that covers film, television, music, Broadway theatre, books, and popular culture. The magazine debuted on February 16, 1990, in New York City.
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
People Magazine
People is an American weekly magazine of celebrity and human-interest stories, published by Meredith Corporation.
Pinterest.com
Pinterest is an American image sharing and social media service designed to enable saving and discovery of information on the World Wide Web using images and, on a smaller scale, GIFs and videos, in the form of pinboards.
Rolling Stone Magazine
Rolling Stone is an American monthly magazine that focuses on popular culture. It was founded in San Francisco, California, in 1967 by Jann Wenner, and the music critic Ralph J. Gleason. It was first known for its coverage of rock music and for political reporting by Hunter S. Thompson.
Sports Illustrated
Sports Illustrated is an American sports magazine owned by Authentic Brands Group, and was first published in August 1954.

American Pop by Bob Batchelor
ISBN: 9780313364112
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Pop culture is the heart and soul of America, a unifying bridge across time bringing together generations of diverse backgrounds. American Pop: Popular Culture Decade by Decade is the most comprehensive reference on American popular culture by decade ever assembled, beginning with the 1900s through 2008. The four-volume set examines the fascinating trends across decades and eras by shedding light on the experiences of Americans young and old, rich and poor, along with the influences of arts, entertainment, sports, and other cultural forces.

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1000 reference resources.
A collection of over 1000 reference resources.
Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary of Music) This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online (aka Oxford Music Online) offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world. Use this database to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Grove Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Gale Editor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781558628472
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., updates and augments the over ten-year-old first edition. Entries cover topics and people in major areas of American popular culture including: art and performance (e.g., theatre, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance); film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio.

Northeast Popular & American Culture Association (NEPCA)
Founded in 1974 as a professional organization for scholars living in New England and New York, NEPCA is an independently funded affiliate of the Popular Culture Association (PCA). It is comprised of a community of scholars interested in advancing research and promoting interest in the disciplines of popular and/or American culture.
Popular Culture Association (PCA)
The Popular Culture Association (PCA), formerly known as the Popular Culture Association / American Culture Association, promotes the study of popular culture throughout the world through the establishment and promotion of conferences, publications, and discussion. PCA publishes the Journal of Popular Culture, which is a peer-reviewed journal and the official publication of the Popular Culture Association. PCA also issues the Journal of American Culture that combines studies of American literature, history, and the arts, with studies of the popular, the taken-for-granted, and the ordinary pieces of American life, to produce analyses of American culture with a breadth and holism lacking in traditional American studies.
Popular Culture Working Group - International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR)
The Popular Culture Working Group, a subgroup of the International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR), aims to examine and explore the various relationships between the production, content, and consumption of popular culture from a range of perspectives that are theoretically informed and empirically grounded. Members of the Popular Culture Working Group are interested in the (academic) intersections that the study of popular culture evokes. Embracing insights from various disciplines such as cultural studies, media studies, gender and queer studies, theatre studies and so on, the Working Group engages with multifarious perspectives and the richness of popular culture as a field of study. From exploring hip hop fandom to conducting a political economic analysis of the television industry, the Working Group is interested in all facets of popular culture.