Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Spring 2024
Website
Business Librarian
Top Picks
- NewsFinder This link opens in a new windowThis is a news locator tool that will help you to find newspapers by title, location, time period, language, or format (print, microfilm, digital, etc.).
- ProQuest - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess five major daily newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, LA Times, and the Chicago Tribune.
Direct Links to Specific Newspaper Titles
Chicago Tribune
- Chicago Tribune Historical, 1849-2014 [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new windowCoverage 1849-1994
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Jan 1, 1985 - Dec 3, 1996
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present
Los Angeles Times
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Jan 1, 1985 - Dec 3, 1996
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present
The New York Times
- Complimentary Access to NYTimes.comAvailable to all Penn State students, faculty, and staff. Content Included: 1851-1922 & 1987-Today. For 1923-1986, limited to 5 free articles per 24 hour period.
- via Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) [Text Content Only] Coverage: 6/1/1980 through currentnote: Click continue to view the link
Coverage: 6/1/1980 through current - via Factiva [Entry page for database includes The New York Times][Text Content Only] Coverage: 6/1/1980 through currentCoverage: 6/1/1980 through current
- via New York Times Historical (available from 1851) [Full Page Reproduction]Most recent four years not available.
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Jun 1, 1980 - present
The Washington Post
- via Factiva [Entry page for database includes The Washington Post][Text Content Only]Coverage: 1/1/1984 through current.
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present
USA Today
- via ProQuest U.S. NewsstreamPublication Date: 1997 - present
- via Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) [Text Content Only]note: Click continue to view the link
Coverage: 1/3/1989 - current.
Additional Titles:
To discover what database has coverage of the newspaper you need, use NewsFinder. Not all databases enable us to directly link to titles within the database.
- NewsFinder This link opens in a new windowNews content by publication title, geography, time frame, and language in print, online, microfilm and other formats via PSU access.
Wall Street Journal
- Complimentary access to WSJ.comAvailable to all Penn State students, faculty, and staff.
- via Proquest [Text Content Only]Coverage: 1/2/1984 - Current. Citation Only: 1982-1983.
- via Factiva [Entry page for database includes The Wall Street Journal][Text Content Only]Coverage: 1/2/1984 - Current. Abstracts & Selected Coverage: 6/13/1979-1/1/1984.
- via ProQuest: US Major DailiesFull text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present
Financial Times
- via Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) [Text Content Only]Publication Date: 2006 - current (with rolling 30-day embargo)
Investor's Business Daily
- via Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) [Text Content Only]note: Click continue to view link
Coverage: 1/1998 - Current.
Additional Titles:
To discover what database has coverage of the newspaper you need, use NewsFinder. Not all databases enable us to directly link to titles within the database.
- NewsFinder This link opens in a new windowNews content by publication title, geography, time frame, and language in print, online, microfilm and other formats via PSU access.
The Philadelphia Inquirer
- via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream [Text Content Only]Publication Date: 1983 - present
Philadelphia Tribune
- via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream (Full Text)Publication Date: 1991 - present
New Pittsburgh Courier (City Edition)
- via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream [Full Text]Publication Date: 1991 - present
Pittsburgh Post Gazette
- via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream [Text Content Only]Publication Date: 1993 - present
Harrisburg Patriot News
- via ProQuest U.S. Newsstream [Text Only]Publication Date: 1986-2017
Centre Daily Times
- Centre Daily Times (2018-present) via Access World News This link opens in a new windowThe Centre Daily Times is available Access World News. Text-only articles are provided from 1995 to current, with full page-image access provided from 2018 to current.
Additional Titles:
To discover what database has coverage of the newspaper you need, use NewsFinder. Not all databases enable us to directly link to titles within the database.
- NewsFinder This link opens in a new windowNews content by publication title, geography, time frame, and language in print, online, microfilm and other formats via PSU access.