Example
Searching for Books
Conducting a simple subject search of "narwhal" in the University Libraries' Catalog results in discovering a book ideal for my research paper. It's helpful to start with a broad search and narrow as you go along.
Searching for Articles
In the Biological Abstracts database, conducting a topic search for "narwhal"and "arctic climate change" results in several relevant journal articles. Reading the abstract helps to determine whether an article fits my research question or falls outside of its scope.
Once I have gathered articles from this database on the different subtopics in my concept map, I can repeat the process in other databases to find different journal articles. It's wise to gather more articles than needed because as you read the articles you may find that some do not fit your research question as well as you originally thought they did.
2. Discover
Searching for Scholarly Information
- With a general idea for your research question, you can create a concept map to determine facets of the question that will help guide your research and may even help with identifying sections for your paper!
- Start by using the University Libraries' Catalog to search for scholarly books on your research topic. Book chapters will cover a topic in a broader scope than research articles to give you a more holistic understanding. Note, you do not have to use an entire book but can cite each chapter you use as a separate scholarly source.
- Using databases specific to Biology, search for journal articles to continue your research. Journal articles focus on highly specific studies conducted by scientists. Make sure to use facets of your research question, as brainstormed through concept mapping, to discover relevant articles.
Create a Concept Map
Resources for Finding Scholarly Sources
University Libraries' Catalog for Books
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new windowSearch the Catalog for scholarly books. Most catalog records will list the table of contents to help you determine if a chapter fits your research question.
Subject-Specific Databases for Journal Articles
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Citation Index provides a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences, and relevant connections.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA premier database for the biological sciences that monitors more than 5,000 international journals to ensure that virtually every life science topic is covered.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowThis database hosts the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered, with a global perspective.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowAs the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology, the Zoological Record is considered a leading taxonomic reference with coverage back to 1864.