Example
Topic of Interest: narwhals
After reading an encyclopedia entry to learn that global warming may threaten the long-term survival of this species, a research question was developed to further explore the current impact climate change may be having on narwhals.
Research Question:
How is climate change effecting the global narwhal population?
Please Note!
Reference works, such as encyclopedias, are excellent sources of background information and indispensable for curious researchers. They are ideal for finding a topic and honing in on a research question.
However, reference sources are not considered scholarly sources. Therefore, you should not be including any reference sources in your final bibliography.
Instead, use reference sources as they are intended to give you a foundation of information on any topic that you would like to learn more about.
1. Select
Choosing a Topic & Developing a Research Question
- What species interest you? Are you curious about birds, flowers, insects, rodents, or mushrooms? Choose a species, or group of species, that you will enjoy learning more about. You will be reading about this topic throughout an entire semester, so make this learning experience you are offered a personally gratifying one!
- Once you choose a species, or group of species, as your topic of interest you will need to develop a research question. Using reference sources to read brief entries about your topic will provide you with the background information needed to inspire your research question.
Reference Sources
Clicking on the title of these encyclopedias will take you to their records in the Catalog. To access the ebook, click the "Access online" link. Remember, you must be authenticated in to Penn State or logged into your University Libraries' account to successfully access any University Libraries' content.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2002One of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals covering all types of animals in geographic areas around the world.
Grzimeks Student Animal Life Resource by Publication Date: 2005This resource book offers broad, comprehensive coverage of the animal kingdom. Animals are grouped by major classifications: sponges; corals; jellyfishes; segmented worms; crustaceans and mollusks; insects; fishes; amphibians; reptiles; birds; and mammals.Plant Sciences by
Publication Date: 2003Introduces the fundamentals of plant sciences, such as cells, transportation and photosynthesis, and also examines related fields, such as agribusiness, conservation and ethnobotany.
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions by Publication Date: 2011This pioneering encyclopedia illuminates the topic of biological invasions, or organisms that come to live in the wrong place. Written by leading scientists from around the world, it addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria.
Encyclopedia of Social Insects by Publication Date: 2019A comprehensive, multi-author treatise on the social insects of the world, with some auxiliary attention to such adjacent topics as subsocial insects and social arachnids.
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Publication Date: 2008Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors.
New Encyclopedia of Birds by Publication Date: 2007A definitive guide to birds of the world with entries prepared by renowned biologists and conservationists that give a systematic account of every family, covering form and function, distribution, diet, social behavior, and breeding biology; special attention is given to environmental and conservation issues.
