GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Search strategies
These geospatial collections and repositories represent a selection of sites to use to search for related diversity geospatial content. A selection of searches are included as examples; however, can be tailored towards other keywords of interest.
- BTAA GeoPortalSearch across locations of digital maps and spatial content for maps of interest related to diversity themes.
- GallicaThis collection, from the National Library of France, contains a variety of digital resources on French history and culture, including maps. The database is in French.
- Europeana: Maps and GeographyThis database contains resources regarding history, geography, and cartography from European cultural heritage institutions.
- Library of Congress search with keyword "race"This search results includes keyword of "race" from maps in the Library of Congress' digital collection.
- David Rumsey Historical Collection, search for "race"This search includes a keyword of "race" for the identification of historical digital maps.
Selection of digital maps
This is a selection of online maps representing diversity themes. Additional online maps are available through search of online map repositories.
- An historical map of PennsylvaniaAn historical map of Pennsylvania shows Indian names of streams and villages, travel, old forts and battlefields, and land purchases.
- The influence of the Indian upon its history: with Indian and French names for natural and cultural locations (Indiana)A thematic map showing the influence of Indian and French languages on the names of features in the state of Indiana. This map was produced in 1933 by the State of Indiana.
- The New York Public Library Africana and Black History Digital CollectionThis digital collection from The New York Public Library includes multiple maps related to African migration.
- J.M. Brewer's Commercial and Residential Philadelphia, 1934 MapThis map includes information on racial information, location rations, age, real estate sales, and industrial information. This map shows an example of redlining.