Library Guides: BA 321: Contemporary Skills for Business Professionals: In-class Activities

Big Ideas in Small Business

Researching Trending Topics in Small Business Management

Step 1: Scan the Landscape

Browse current periodicals to discover trending topics.
Skim articles to identify keywords for further research.

Bloomberg Businessweek
Paywalled? Access via EbscoHost.
Fast Company
Paywalled? Access via EbscoHost.
Forbes
Paywalled? Access via EbscoHost.
Inc.
Paywalled? Access via EbscoHost.
Wall Street Journal
Paywalled? Access via ProQuest.

Step 2: Go Deep

Contextualize the trend with research and analysis.
Search for your topic keywords in professional and scholarly literature.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Tip! Advanced search for:
[your keyword(s)]
AND
"SMALL business" in Field: Subject Terms - SU
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Tip! Advanced search for:
[your keywords]
AND
"Small business" in All subjects & indexing - SUBJECT
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Research publications from a private, non-profit network of 1,800+ academic economists.
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

Small Business International Review
Research articles that enhance knowledge and understanding of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

Step 3: Synthesize and Strategize

Reflect on what you learned.
Apply what you learned to your own small business strategy.

Don't Believe the Hype (Cycle)

Business Information Skills to Navigate Opportunity and Risk

Slides - Don't Believe The Hype (Cycle) [via Canva]
Gartner Hype Cycle
Explanation of the Hype Cycle by Gartner.

Gartner Reports This link opens in a new window
In Gartner Reports, access Hype Cycles.Select a hype cycle to discuss within your group.
A comprehensive collection of current research reports on business-related aspects of Information Technology. Includes: Unlimited access to Gartner's Core Research (*does not include Gartner analyst experts*) and 75% of Gartner's Research Library.

Share Out

What did you learn about the hype cycle you selected?
What do you still want to know?
How could you find out?

Competitive Intelligence

Competitive Intelligence: Career Prep Research Tools

In your group, explore your assigned research tool. Be prepared to demonstrate your discoveries to the class!

Worksheet: BA 321 Career Prep Research
Record your observations in this worksheet, and take notes on demonstrations by your classmates!

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Think of an industry you want to work in and access the industry report.
Who are the major players or companies in this industry? What factors impact industry performance and the current industry outlook? Review the call preparation questions - how can these be helpful in career prep?
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Think of a company you would like to work for and search for their profile.
Is the company in good financial health? What industry do they operate in? Who are there competitors? Have they been in the news lately? Can you find job opportunities in the database?
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Access Mintel Reports, search for an industry you want to work in and find a related trends report.
What kind of data is presented in Mintel reports? How could this be useful in career prep?
Provides access to two products. Mintel Academic publishes 600 market research reports each year for the U.S. and European consumer markets. Reports analyze market drivers, trends, market forecasts, market segmentations, demographics, and consumer attitudes and purchasing behaviors. The Trends module in Mintel Academic tracks cutting edge trends and shifts in consumer behavior. Mintel Market Sizes provides market size, market share and segmentation data for global consumer packaged goods industries. No walk-ins allowed.

Indeed.com
Indeed.com is an online recruiting and job application website.
Access the Company Reviews tab and search by company name or job title.
What can you learn from company reviews? Are there useful tips in the Q&A and Interviews tabs of the company profile?

Related Research Guides

These research guides provide access to additional resources for career planning, as well as company and industry research.

Career Resources
by Sara Hess Last Updated Feb 4, 2025 356 views this year
Competitive Intelligence: Tools and Techniques
by Sarah Hartman-Caverly Last Updated Jan 29, 2025 120 views this year

Research Coach

Sarah Hartman-Caverly

Email Me

Contact:

Penn State Berks, Thun 107

Subjects: Campus: Berks