Country-level political and business risk analysis and forecasting, including politics, economics, industry and trade, and background information on geography and social conditions.
Country Reports on 106 countries. Gives political and economic risk analysis available. Each Country Report focuses specifically on political and business information: finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security. Note: the tabs International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) and Political Risk Services (PRS) provide access to information regarding methodology, but do not provide access to the actual products. Access to the Country Data and the Political Risk Yearbook are available through the University Libraries A-Z list.
Tip: Search by country to locate analyses, company profiles, and multimedia content for international business.
International Business Online is a learning database that synthesizes for the first time online the world’s highest quality applied multimedia content for the study of international business.This online collection is curated by business experts and closely aligned to the syllabi of today’s international business courses. Collectively, it will grow to include a mix of more than 4,000 expert-selected primary source documents, including corporate training videos, instructional films, case studies, text book chapters, research reports, sample business documents, and self-assessments.
Tip: Search by country name and use the Subject menu to limit search results to relevant topics.
Access public policy analysis gray literature from think tanks, policy institutes, nongovernmental organizations, academic research centers, etc.
PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.
Tip: Search by country name and use the Topic limit to narrow your search results.
Find gray literature analyzing current affairs in international trade, business, security. etc. Includes company briefing sheets and fact sheets.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
Tip: Use the Browse Map feature to select your country and identify global issues associated with it, or search for your country.
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women?s studies, and human rights. Updated daily.
Tip: Limit search results to specific countries or regions with the Geography limit.
Search current business news and trade literature.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management. App information
Find newspapers by country of origin and browse current issues to become familiar with business affairs and current events.
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
Find current events information by browsing topics under the Business & Economics menu or using the advanced search screen to limit search results to source location by world region.
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
Your Passport to International Business Etiquette The most authoritative and comprehensive text of its kind, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition is your must-have guide to proper international business protocol.
The authors provide a framework for understanding any culture in the world, but include specific chapters on the top 10 economies in the world in 2050, according to Morgan Grenfell bank: China, USA, Germany, UK, Russia, India, Brazil, France, Italy and Japan.
Drawing from their many years of research and training in the field; highlighting such important elements of communication as nonverbal gestures, dress, and gift giving customs; and featuring dozens of colorful examples and useful tips; the authors present a practical approach to interpreting signals and symbols around the world, overcoming stereotypes, and mastering the nuances of international communication.
The author draws on his extensive bilingual and bicultural experience to provide readers with an insightful look at many key aspects of doing business with Japan, ranging from initiating and maintaining business contacts, effective interpersonal communication, decision-making styles, negotiation tactics, presentational speaking, working of Japanese multinational companies, and living and working in Japan.
Create meaningful relationships that translate to better business Access to Asia presents a deeply insightful framework for today's global business leaders and managers. Readers will find in-the-trenches advice and stories from 80 regional experts in 10 countries, including China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, and Korea.
Introduces the principles of cross cultural communication, and how these principles can be developed and applied across most cultures and countries. The book approaches communication in diverse environments as an exercise in understanding communication across physical, and psycho-social boundaries; hence its title.
The authors of this important book analyse the pitfalls and risks of doing business in ASEAN countries that are mostly absent in Western markets, covering various strategic, external, operational, and legal-cultural challenges for international companies. Encompassing issues of governance and leadership standards, the authors present case studies and practical solutions underpinned by academic research.
Global Vision: How Companies Can Overcome the Pitfalls of Globalization addresses the business challenges that globalization poses. It will help managers improve their global acumen by developing a better understanding of the cultural, political, and economic risks they face as they expand globally.
An international business expert helps you understand and navigate cultural differences in this insightful and practical guide, perfect for both your work and personal life. Meyer provides a field-tested model for decoding how cultural differences impact international business, and combines a smart analytical framework with practical, actionable advice.
Speed, social change, historical inheritance and cultural gaps are key factors which have significant impact on global collaboration and global sourcing. Major theories of international management, company internationalization, cultural dimensions and distances will be discussed to develop cross-cultural competencies and conflict management styles for international project managers.
This book provides practical frameworks for anyone hoping to become a successful global leader, and outlines the challenges that international firms face when managing across cultures. It highlights the cognitive, affective, and behavioral actions leaders can take to understand the differences between foreign values and traditions, and how to develop a corporate environment where global leadership can thrive.