Social Science Librarian
Stephen (Social Sciences) Woods
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 208 Paterno Library, University Park
Phone: 814.865.0665
Country Background Information
These sources will give you a general background about your country and its broad social and political environment to help you frame the reset of your research. Many will also give you general statistics and directory information about government officials. Print resources can give you the best and most concise picture of your country. Be sure to check the publishing dates to be sure you are getting the information you need.
- Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new windowLengthy analysis of a country's political and economic climate and risks, the Political Risk Yearbook is unique in that it provides forecasts on likely political and economic developments. Each Country Report focuses specifically on political and business information: finding developing markets, determining currency movements, preparing for capital investments, or making judgments about corporate security.
- Political Handbook of the World Online Edition This link opens in a new windowAnnual survey of government, regional issues, and international organizations. Good source for background information about countries and organizations and for an overview of the year's political events. Includes some statistics.
- Political Parties of the World [online]A country-by-country look at the major political parties. Lists web sites for parties if they are available; via Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Countries and their CulturesA four-volume encyclopedia that focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of National EconomiesOnline via Gale Virtual reference Library.
- Country Studies [Library of Congress]Book-length works covering the history, politics, geography, and economy of individual countries. Some are dated and therefore most useful for getting an historical perspective.
- Country Studies [Library of Congress]Available online since 1988, this is a U.S. government-produced series of monographs on individual countries throughout the world. There are volumes for most African nations. This series is well-written and contains extensive bibliographies.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsShort overviews of the government and politics of various countries. Prepared for U.S. Department of State personnel on diplomatic missions. Formerly called Background Notes,
- Post Reports [eDiplomat]Designed for State Department personnel stationed at embassies and consulates, these can provide insight into a country, and are particularly helpful in that they describe some major cities as well as the country. Most recent versions are not available to the public, but previous versions are available via eDiplomat, a commercial web site.
Embassies and Consulates
Embassies and consulates often provide country descriptions and/or data (often in English) as well as links to government sites in their home countries.
- USEmbassy.govwebsites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions.
- Embassy.org"A resource of and for the Washington D.C. foreign embassy community."