Library Guides: KINES 461/462: Research Project: Find Data Sets

Exploring / searching data sets

re3data.org
Index of data repositories - you can browse by subject / content type or search by topic to locate data repositories related to your research.
Scientific Data - figshare
Repository for research output (including data sets) from Springer Nature / figshare.

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Use the "Dataset" filter to identify relevant data within PubMed.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html

DATA.GOV
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
ScholarSphere
Penn State's institutional repository. Filter your search results by Resource Type --> Dataset
DataCommons
Disciplinary data repository at Penn State to which researchers may submit data for dissemination and compliance purposes.

Using Google to find open data sets

There are tons of data sets available online. Here are some tips to searching for open data sets using Google:

Include search terms like "data" or "table"
Put phrases in quotation marks " " to search for exact phrases (e.g. "landing mechanics")
Search for a particular document type (e.g. "ACL injury" filetype:xls)
Search for data on a particular site or domain (e.g. "overuse injuries" site:.gov)