Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries is a news retrieval service from the publisher of Japan’s second largest circulation newspaper, Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. (One concurrent user. Please logout when finished.)
Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries is a news retrieval service from Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. Coverage includes more than 13 millions items of the articles and the advertisements of the paper since its first issue in 1879; both Tokyo and Osaka editions; full-text searching of the post-1985 articles; AERA and Shukan Asahi. (One concurrent user. Please logout when finished.)
British Foreign Office Files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. (English)
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930. Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.
A portal to Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases.
JapanKnowledge is a portal to Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases that provide access to various reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, Gendai Yogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, collection of Toyo Bunko series and other visual and sound databases. The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan is in English, the remaining reference sources are in Japanese.
Published in Tokyo since 1897, Japan Times is the oldest English language newspaper in Japan. Full-text.
Published in Tokyo by Japanese publishers, Japan Times is the oldest English language newspaper in Japan and was for many years the only foreign-language newspaper in Japan. The digital archive includes full-text back to 1897 including title changes over the years; Japan Times and Mail, Japan Times and Advertiser, Japan Advertiser, and Nippon Times.
An online database of 11 million articles covers every issue of the Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. (Restricted to three users among five subscribing institutions. Therefore, please logout when finished.)
Yomidas Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) is an online database of 11 million articles covering every issue of The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. Restricted to three users among five subscribing institutions. Therefore, please logout when finished.