Library Guides: Arab-Israeli Conflict: League of Nations/United Nations

League of Nations/United Nations

The University Libraries have a comprehensive collection of United Nations (and its predecessor, the League of Nations) materials in print and micro formats. Most of these materials are not listed in The CAT. Specialized indexes will help you to locate these materials. The collections are located in the Social Sciences Library on the 2nd floor of Paterno Library.

Note: The United Nations uses a specialized call number system consisting of letters, slashes, and numbers that indicate the UN body that issued the publication. For example, S/RES/1850 (2008) indicates a 2008 Resolution from the Security Council. These call numbers are key to locating the documents in the University Libraries collections.

Indexes to the Collection

League of Nations documents, 1919-1946; a descriptive guide and key to the microfilm collection. / Edited by Edward A. Reno, Jr.
A descriptive guide and index to the microfilm collection of League of Nations documents.
The Yearbook of the United Nations
One of the easiest way to track the work of the UN. Provides an annual overview of United Nations activities by broad subject areas. Will give you citations to the most important documents surrounding an issue.
Official Document System of the United Nations
Complete full text of UN working documents back to 1993 as well as complete text of all resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onward.

Key UN Websites

United Nations
Gateway to the United Nations website.
United Nations Peacekeeping
United Nations Peacekeeping helps countries torn by conflict create the conditions for lasting peace. Comprised of civilian, police, and military personnel.
United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine
The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace.
The Question of Palestine
The UN work on the question of Palestine today encompasses diplomacy, maintenance of peace, human rights, assistance, international law, public information, research, and more.
General Assembly of the United Nations
The main deliberative, policymaking, and representative organ of the UN.
Division for Palestinian Rights
Established by the UN General Assembly in 1977 to assist the UN Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian people.
United Nations Security Council
The UN Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.
[The Question of Palestine] Security Council
Includes Security Council resolutions and briefings on the situation in the Middle East.

Treaties

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the UN Secretariat since 1946. Includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains more than 200,000 treaties and related subsequent actions.
This collection includes five categories of treaty-related data: Status of Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General; The United Nations Treaty Series (full text); Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties; Photographs of Treaty Signature ceremonies; Titles of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General in the UN official languages. A complete description of the database is available at: https://treaties.un.org/Pages/Overview.aspx?path=overview/overview/page1_en.xml. As of April 2000, the database contains full text of treaties from 1992-to date. Additional years are continually added.