Find full-text articles from key international news sources. [Penn State Libraries]
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
In 2014, after 5 years of building the Aslan Media global brand of independent journalism, the Aslan Media Initiatives team (led by Founder Reza Aslan) has shifted its projects. We are proud of what we have achieved and are looking forward.
Through the Aslan Media brand, our team of global, passionate youth have created and grown an online community that supports constructive and authentic dialogue about MENA(SA), holding that space for the best of civil discourse. Since our inception, we grew readership to over 100 countries at the height of our activities, and a social media following of over 50,000 people across our various points of social activity.
Now, we continue our work in a new direction. Here at Mideastinfo.com you will find our latest endeavor to educate and inform about the greater Middle East (MENASA). It's often difficult to find accurate and consolidated information about countries and regions of the Middle East, North Africa, and South Asia. Here, in this wiki, we work to provide a truly first of its kind online space where users can search and find accurate and researched information on topics ranging from politics, and history, to travel and culture. With vetted, knowledgeable, and trusted content editors, we work every day to add more information to this site for you.
Translations of radio and television news broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world. Covers 1940s through mid 1990s
Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information. Full text is currently available for selected areas only. For access to all FBIS reports use the A-Z link for the FBIS Index. All reports are available on microfiche in the Social Sciences Library 2nd floor Paterno.
Picks up where FBIS leaves off. [Penn State Libraries]
World News Connection® (WNC) contains full-text translated summaries from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports for the following materials: newspaper articles conference proceedings radio and television broadcasts periodicals non-classified technical reports
Digitized images of every issue of the New York Times back to 1851. Useful for looking at events over time. [Penn State Libraries]
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Particularly good for news coverage of the early 20th century and the partition of Palestine.
The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The Digital Archive contains the full run from the initial launch in 1842 to the final issue in 2003. The database has more than one and half million color images providing a vivid pictorial commentary on domestic and world affairs. Searches can be limited to illustrations, or sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, or people.
This also is particularly useful for coverage of the British Mandate period and partition.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.