Best resource for exploring children's/young adult literature. Allows you to search for titles by genre, age/grade level, reading level, award/honor status, and many other criteria. Provides reviews, teacher resources, and more.
**Create an account (with a non-psu email account) and it will remain active for one year after you graduate from Penn State.
CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries dating back to 1922. Also included are 330,000 and author illustrator links. Subscribers can search by keyword, author, title and subject; and filter by reading level, age, grade and interest level; and then view, sort and distribute the resulting information. In addition, CLCD includes Teaching Tools which shows links to hundreds of web sites with lesson plans and teaching guides.
Includes reviews not available in CLCD.
Rating System: 1-6, (1) is the best.
The Horn Book Guide Online, updated each spring and fall, publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people. The reviews are clear and succinct (about 60 to 75 words), identifying strengths and weaknesses and rating the books on a scale from one (high) to six. The database is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating. Currently, there are more than 51,000 full text reviews from 1989 through the current issue.
Although not a library resource, Goodreads is the largest social media site for book recommendations and reviews. Information is contributed by writers, teachers, scholars, and everyday people. Sign up to obtain a free account.