Materials relating to art, archaeology, and literature
[Image from the William T. Sanders papers]
These collections chiefly document Latin authors, literature, and archaeology. Collections related to archaeology document Aztec and Toltec archaeological sites in Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. These archaeology collections include field notes, film, photographs, and research materials. Collections related to art, culture, and literature include books, correspondence, manuscripts, prints, programs, research materials, and translations. Well-known authors documented in these collections include Jorge Luis Borges, Alfredo González Prada, Manuel González Prada, Alfonso Hernández Catá, Clarice Lispector, José Carlos Mariátegui, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, Elena Poniatowska, Luis Alberto Sánchez, Ramón del Valle Inclán, and César Vallejo.
- Carlos Zamora papersCarlos Zamora was a Penn State professor and chair of the Department of Mexican American studies at the University of California. His papers document his research and publications about Spanish American literature.
- Colección Pensamiento dominicanoA collection of Dominican Republic publications. These titles are not exclusively located in the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. These titles can be searched in the catalog using the series "Colección pensamiento dominicano"
- Collection of José Guadalupe Posada printsA collection of 55 broadsides, news sheets, song sheets, and other printed materials by Mexican painter and cartoonist José Guadalupe Posada.
- Dominican Republic political and cultural publicationsThis collection consists of 122 pamphlets, programs, newsletters, and maps created chiefly during the regime of Rafael Leónidas Trujillo Molina and dating into the Presidency of Joaquín Balaguer. Materials are chiefly transcripts of speeches political leaders, government propaganda, and programs for cultural events.
- Faces, mirrors, masks: collection relating to Lispector and Poniatowska segmentsA collection relating to Brazilian author Clarice Lispector and Mexican author Elena Poniatowska. The collection includes video, audio, transcripts, manuscripts, notes, critical studies, translations, books, and correspondence relating to the production of dramatic radio documentaries for National Public Radio.
- Luis Alberto Sánchez booksA collection of books purchased from the library of Luis Alberto Sánchez. These titles are not exclusively located in the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. These can be searched in the catalog using "From the library of Luis Alberto Sánchez (1900-1994)"
- Luis Alberto Sánchez papers (English/Inglés)Luis Alberto Sánchez was a prominent Peruvian author and political leader of the American Popular Revolutionary Alliance Party (APRA). This collection of correspondence, manuscripts, and other materials documents his leadership in the American Popular Revolutionary Alliance Party (APRA), relationship with Víctor Raúl Haya de la Torre, Peruvian political history, mid-20th century Latin American political movements, and relationships with prominent Latin American authors such as Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and César Vallejo. These papers also include his collection of Alfredo González Prada correspondence, another prominent Peruvian diplomat and writer. This link is for the English-language finding aid.
- Luis Alberto Sánchez papers (Spanish/Español)Luis Alberto Sánchez was a prominent Peruvian author and political leader of the American Popular Revolutionary Alliance Party (APRA). This collection of correspondence, manuscripts, and other materials documents his leadership in the American Popular Revolutionary Alliance Party (APRA), relationship with Víctor Raúl Haya de la Torre, Peruvian political history, mid-20th century Latin American political movements, and relationships with prominent Latin American authors such as Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and César Vallejo. These papers also include his collection of Alfredo González Prada correspondence, another prominent Peruvian diplomat and writer. This link is for the Spanish-language finding aid.
- Robert Lima papersRobert Lima is a Cuban-American poet, biographer, translator, and professor emeritus of Spanish and Comparative Literatures at Penn State. This collection includes materials on his poetry, translation, and research into Latin American authors such as Ramón del Valle Inclán and Jorge Luis Borges.
- William T. Sanders collection on Pedro ArmillasPedro Armillas was an archaeologist working in the Mexican basin. He primarily taught at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Dr. Armillas studied the interactions between the environment, technology, and settlement of Mesoamerica. The collection consists chiefly of his photographs (prints and negatives) taken throughout Armillas' field work in Mexico and research files which were collected by Dr. Sanders after Dr. Armillas' death.
- William T. Sanders papersWilliam T. Sanders was the Evan Pugh Professor Emeritus of Archaeological Anthropology. His archaeological work focused on using aerial photography to survey archaeological sites in Central America. Dr. Sanders primarily worked in the Basin of Mexico, leading the Teotihuacan Valley Project (1960-1966) and Cuautitlán-Temascalapa Project (1970-1975). Sanders also worked on projects in Kaminaljuyú (Guatemala) and Copán (Honduras). This collection includes field and laboratory notes, films, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.