Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Latin American & Spanish History Collections

A guide to archival and book collections focusing on Latin American and Spanish communities and history

Introduction

The Eberly Family Special Collections Library houses many materials related to Latin American and Spanish history. These collections were chiefly created by Latin American communities and collected by Penn State University or American scholars in the 1970s-1990s. Highlights include archival material and publications relating to Alianza Popular Revolucionaria Americana (American Popular Revolutionary Alliance or APRA) in Peru as well as field notes and photographs documenting archaeology in Mexico. These collections are grouped into two thematic categories, "Art, archaeology, and literature" and "politics and political movements." Due to the overlapping collection contents, several collections are grouped into both categories.

These collections primarily documents Argentina, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Peru, and Spain. Individuals or communities in Brazil, Chile, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela are also represented. This guide focuses on resources located in the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. For additional information on Latin American Studies resources at Penn State, please consult the guide below. 

Two men, one standing and one sitting on a horse, with a stele in La Soledad de Maciel, Guerrero, Mexico

[Photograph from the William T. Sanders collection on Pedro Armillas]