Library Guides: Information Systems at Harrisburg: Subject Databases

Helpful Databases

Peer Reviewed

The databases in this group primarily contain peer-reviewed journals; HOWEVER, each also provides access to industry magazines that ARE NOT PEER REVIEWED. When searching in these databases, apply your PEER REVIEW or SCHOLARLY filters, which are found on the search screens. Be aware that pre-formatted citations in these databases are not always correct. You should always double check the formatting against an APA guide or other authoritative citation resource.

Scholarly Business and Industry Resources

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Depending on your topic, you may find useful scholarly research in JSTOR, which focuses primarily on the social sciences. The collection contains scholarly journals and ebooks.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.

Scholarly Technology Resources

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988.
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier full text journal articles and electronic books) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research on a variety of technology-related topics.
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier journals and books that we subscribe to. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.

Not Peer Reviewed

The databases in this group DO NOT PROVIDE PEER REVIEWED RESOURCES. They are primarily report databases which give you valuable information about a business, an industry, or type of technology. They will help supplement your scholarly sources. Most of these databases do not provide pre-formatted citations. You will need to gather the relevant information and develop the citations yourself. See the Citation Resources page for more help.

Business and Industry Reports

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides company and industry information, company news, information on initial public offerings, and career and personal finance information.
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Access industry reports with graphics. Primarily for US companies/industries, but does have reports on specific international companies/industries.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research provides in-depth market research reports covering technology, science, and healthcare sectors. Reports provide market size forecasts and projections as well as information on major players in the industry.
BCC Research provides in-depth market research reports covering technology, science, and healthcare sectors. Reports provide market size forecasts and projections as well as information on major players in the industry. The analyses of these markets will be especially useful to student and faculty entrepreneurs and researchers in Penn State's tech transfer units. Once the database loads, users should click the "Member Login" button on the main screen and then click "IP Authenticate" in order to access reports.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Reports analyze market drivers, trends, market forecasts, market segmentations, demographics, and consumer attitudes and purchasing behaviors. Market Sizes provides market size, market share and segmentation data for global consumer packaged goods industries.
Provides access to two products. Mintel Academic publishes 600 market research reports each year for the U.S. and European consumer markets. Reports analyze market drivers, trends, market forecasts, market segmentations, demographics, and consumer attitudes and purchasing behaviors. The Trends module in Mintel Academic tracks cutting edge trends and shifts in consumer behavior. Mintel Market Sizes provides market size, market share and segmentation data for global consumer packaged goods industries. No walk-ins allowed.
Passport GMID (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Useful for researching international companies and markets including demographic, macro-economic, and marketing data; industry statistics; statistics on brand and company rankings; comment on emerging industry, country, and consumer trends; consumer lifestyle statistics, future demographic reports.
Passport GMID provides business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. Content includes: international demographic, macro-economic, and marketing data; industry statistics; statistics on brand and company rankings; comment on emerging industry, country, and consumer trends; consumer lifestyle statistics, future demographic reports.

Technology Reports

Gartner Reports (Information Technology) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of current research reports on business-related aspects of Information Technology.
A comprehensive collection of current research reports on business-related aspects of Information Technology.

Penn State University Libraries

Information Systems at Harrisburg

Your Librarian

Additional Databases