This collection of videos shows the "how to" of construction planning, excavation, foundations, framing, and more.
Some of these handbooks are intended for graduates and working professionals, not for first-year students. However, they all give you a taste of "what's next" as you progress through your degree program and grow your knowledge of civil engineering.
This book will take you beyond the 2D frontier and help you create accurate 3D models that simulate reality. This book is crammed full of creative and practical tutorials which will help you master the third dimension
Explains the requirements of the IBC as they would apply during the common phases of design: from schematic design through to the preparation of construction documents. This effectively highlights applicable requirements of the building code at the appropriate stage of design based on available information.
A source for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
ASCE Library (civil engineering) Contains the full text of online journals since 1983, conference proceedings since 1996, eBooks from 1996-2015, and current standards as of 2015 published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
High-quality documentaries on engineering failures and successes. After opening the database, use the links on the left side of the page to explore videos by discipline, event, and more.
Engineering Case Studies Online will dramatically improve teaching and research by providing a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
The following guides provide links to the library's additional resources for specific areas of civil and environmental engineering:
17 volumes that provide current information on construction costs estimating data.
Volumes include facilities, mechanical, landscape, labor costs, labor rates, heavy construction, residential, commercial, concrete, electrical, plumbing, interior, exterior, and green building cost data.
Architectural drawings and photographs of hundreds of recent projects from around the world. The most efficient way to search this collection is to click on the "Advanced Search" option at the left side of the page. Then, under "Building Type," you can choosing "Housing," "Industrial Buildings," and other options.
Documentation of about 850 recent building projects organized by building types (that is to say, the functional purpose of the building.) Typical results include a project description, drawings, and photographs. Essays discussing major types are also available. Especially strong in housing and it’s variations but also including libraries, museums, schools and industrial, office and sacred buildings.
Provides product information, "how-to," news, etc., pertaining to green design.
BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, project case studies, and full text access to Environmental Building News from 2004 to date. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Creating a free personal account will allow you to comment on articles and participate in discussion threads.
A source for learning about architectural and industrial design products. The "Advanced Search" allows you to select products by composition, usage, processing, environmental sustainability, physical properties, and more.
This database serves as a resource for designers in their search for new and/or unique materials. Material ConneXion currently holds 2,000+ material samples of architectural, landscape architectural, interior and industrial design products. Material samples include an index of manufacturer, material composition, environmental/sustainability, and descriptive information.
Special Access Notes: Individual users may not download, on any single day, more than thirty (30) materials from the Database