STEM Librarian
Andrea Pritt
she/her/Ms.
Contact:
Library 204A
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
717-948-6071
Confirming Basic Facts
Unfortunately, environmentalism is a topic where there is a lot of conflicting opinion and misinformation on the Internet. If you're concerned about the quality of your information sources, try these:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias, including the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, The SAGE Reference Series on Green Society, and other titles on environmental science and engineering. Use the search box at the top of the page to search the whole database.
- CQ Researcher: Environment, Climate, and Natural ResourcesCQ Researcher provides unbiased reports on a variety of social issues. This link goes directly to reports on environmental concerns. Before reading a report, check its date, because the database includes material back to the 1920s.
Digging Deeper
In addition to GREENR (above), use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, news, and other in-depth information about environmental science and engineering:
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment from agriculture, education, law, health, and technological perspectives.
- Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAnother helpful database, but with more of a focus on pollution assessment, control, and reduction.
- Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes both scholarly journals and government documents, drawing from a wide array of the sciences as well as engineering.
- Water Resources Abstracts (within the Environmental Science Index) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of water, including conservation, management, pollution, and treatment.
- BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowBuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, project case studies, and full text access to Environmental Building News from 2004 to date.
- govinfo This link opens in a new windowA database of publications by the U.S. government, including the Department of Environmental Protection.
- Pennsylvania Department of Environmental ProtectionYour gateway to information about environmental policy and concerns in Pennsylvania.
- Environmental Science and Resource Management Subject GuideAdditional databases and library resources.
- Civil and Environmental Engineering Subject GuideAdditional databases and library resources.
- Community, Environment, and Development Research GuideIntended to support the CED major at University Park, this guide includes helpful links for exploring environmentalism outside beyond the U.S.
Taking Action: Professional
There are a large number of well-known consumer and political organizations concerning the environment. However, there are other organizations for engineers and other scientists. By joining a professional organization, you are more likely to learn about the latest research and technological discoveries. Some have "student memberships" for lower costs. Here are a few:
- ASCE: Environmental and Water Resources InstituteA unit within the American Society of Civil Engineers that focuses on environmental engineering.
- ASCE: Committee on Adaptation to a Changing ClimateAnother unit within the American Society of Civil Engineers that is focused on environmental concerns.
- Engineers Without BordersDedicated to community-driven development and sustainability.
- Union of Concerned ScientistsAn organization of scientists committed to research and policy change on environmental and social problems.
- U.S. PIRGA research group that uses science to investigate consumer concerns. Many states have chapters.
Taking Action: Personal
- Penn State Sustainability InstituteAlthough geared toward students at University Park, this site has helpful suggestions for other Penn State students, too.
- Real Simple: Green LivingArticles from Real Simple magazine on natural products, energy conservation, and more.