Every issue of the New York Times from 1851 through 2015. To find ads, use the "Advanced Search" and choose "Advertisement" as the "Document Type."
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Especially helpful for images pertaining to history, nature, and world civilizations.
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to 2020, National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph, providing in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. The database is fully searchable by subject, geography, or image.
Images of famous paintings, sculptures, and other works of art.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Over 7,000 digitized U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
An index of historical magazines covering the 1870s through the 1970s. Includes some full-text.
The online version of the original Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature offers subject access to over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines. Use Readers Guides Retrospective to find contemporary magazine accounts documenting events in politics, fashion, media, film, television, health and medicine, literature, popular culture, religion and science.
Includes social and demographic data both in the U.S. and internationally.
Online service that enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. Data includes a wide range of social and demographic data both from the US and international sources.
Statistics on all aspects of American life from the 1790s to the present.
Provides a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material.
Social and economic data from UN-member countries.
UNSTATS provides data on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO. Data can be displayed in HTML or downloaded in Excel or CSV format.
Includes Gallup, NBC, Fox, and other popular polls.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion back to the 1930s. A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion data from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations.
The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest archives of polling data in the United States and is the exclusive repository for Louis Harris public opinion data. The Odum Institute Dataverse Network provides access to all of the data collections curated by the Odum Institute and from other scholars. The site allows access to downloadable data and allows researchers to do online analysis as well as sub-setting of large data sets.
Another source of public opinion polls, both U.S. and international.
Covers eighty years of national public opinion polling from health-related U.S. survey questions. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.