Your Librarian
Negotiation Resources
Government Agencies and Resources
National Labor Relations Board
The NLRB is a government agency that oversees labor practices in the United States to uphold fair policies. Their website contains cases and decisions from arbitration and guidance for employers and workers on how to interpret US labor laws.
This agency fosters, promotes, and develops the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States. It aims to improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights. Their website contains information on laws and regulations related to labor, as well as guidance for employers and employees.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
Congressional Research Service Reports on the National Labor Relations Act
The Congressional Research Service is a non-partisan government agency under the Library of Congress. It creates informative reports for legislators and the public on matters of public interest related to our laws which help explain and interpret federal statutes.
Labor Laws, Guidance, Statutes and Reference Materials
- Department of Labor Laws and Regulations Overview
- National Labor Relations Board Key Reference Materials
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index
Taft-Harley Act
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
National Labor Relations Act
Fair Labor Standards Act
Affordable Care Act
- Affordable Care Act - Information for Workers and Families
- Affordable Care Act - Information for Employers and Advisers
Overtime Rules
State Labor Agencies
Sample Collective Bargaining Agreements
US Office of Labor-Management Standards Collective Bargaining Agreements on File
Berkeley Labor Contracts Database
Cornell Library Labor Contracts Guide
Related Guides
Relevant Databases
- Congressional This link opens in a new windowLocate text of federal laws, congressional bills, and reports that help explain the impacts of legislation.
- Westlaw Campus Research - Law This link opens in a new windowResource for locating case law, statutes and regulations at the federal and state levels and American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and law review journals.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowAccess business news resources, management and human resources journals.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowAccess legal journals and law reviews with opinions on collective bargaining and federal publications that contain laws, guidance, and interpretations.
- Harvard Business Publishing Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess ebooks with a how-to perspective on negotiating.
Labor Law Journals
- Berkeley Journal of Employment and Labor LawPresents current developments in the labor and employment law field to scholars, practitioners, and students. The Journal addresses the full range of legal issues in the field, including employment discrimination, "traditional" labor law, public sector employment, international and comparative labor law, employee benefits, and the emerging doctrines of wrongful termination.
- Employee Relations Law JournalNote: Full-text access available Business Source Premier. Covers information to make employer and personnel manager proficient in handling E.E.O., occupational health and safety, labor-management relations, employee benefits and compensation problems.
- Employee Responsibilities and Rights JournalThe journal is a forum for the field of employee relations by presenting original research articles on interdisciplinary topics concerning employment relationship. It draws from a broad range of disciplines, including ethics, organizational behavior, law, economics, sociology, social psychology, industrial and employment relations, administrative and organizational studies, and philosophy to further the understanding of both employee responsibilities and rights.
- Employee Rights and Employment Policy JournalThis journal publishes articles containing diverse perspectives on legal and law related issues focused on the well-being of employees in the workplace. Published jointly with Workplace Fairness, the journal is multidisciplinary in approach, welcoming submissions from individuals in all disciplines, including labor and employment law, labor economics, labor relations, human resources management, sociology, and industrial psychology.
- Journal of Workplace RightsThe Journal of Workplace Rights, a SAGE Open publication, is dedicated to the proposition that human rights should not be compromised by employers. It uses an expansive definition of human rights, based on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights as passed by the United Nations in 1948.
- Labor & Employment LawPublished quarterly by the ABA's Section of Labor and Employment Law, the Newsletter contains information on current Section projects, recent development and decisions, upcoming educational opportunities, new books, and other news that is of interest to Section members.
Labor and Employment Relations Journals
- British Journal of Industrial RelationsThe British Journal of Industrial Relations is a journal of work and employment relations, with a focus on the institutions, policies, and practices associated with these relations and their implications for matters of economy and society. It is both multidisciplinary and international in its scope, contributors, and readership.
- Economic and Industrial DemocracyEconomic and Industrial Democracy is an international, quarterly published, peer reviewed journal that focuses on the study of initiatives designed to enhance the quality of working life through extending the democratic control of workers over the workplace and the economy.
- European Journal of Industrial RelationsThe European Journal of Industrial Relations is the principal English-language forum for the analysis of key developments in European industrial relations and their theoretical and practical implications.
- Industrial and Labor Relations ReviewILR Review publishes research on important issues—globalization, capital and labor mobility, inequality, wage setting, unemployment, labor market dynamics, international migration, work organization and technology, human resource management and personnel economics, demographic and ethnic differences in labor markets, workplace conflicts, alternative forms of representation, and labor regulation.
- Industrial RelationsIndustrial Relations offers an international perspective on economic, sociological, psychological, political, historical, and legal developments in labor and employment. Major issues covered include corporate restructuring and downsizing, the changing employment relationship in union and nonunion settings, high performance work systems, the demographics of the workplace, and the impact of globalization on national labor markets.
- Industrial Relations JournalIndustrial Relations Journal is international in scope, focusing on the changing nature, forms and regulation of the employment relationship. It publishes articles on industrial relations, labour markets, and the organization and future of work.
- Journal of Industrial RelationsThe Journal of Industrial Relations is an international journal administered by the Australian Labour and Employment Relations Association (ALERA). It publishes scholarship from a range of disciplinary perspectives, examining any aspect of employment relations. Contributions exploring the traditional concerns of industrial relations as well as studies addressing the intersection of workplace, family and community are included.