Library Guides: ME 448/449: Mechanical Engineering Design Concepts/Projects: Finding Codes, Standards, and Regulations

Finding ME Codes and Standards

ASME Standards Collection
Full-text of all current codes and standards of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. At the upper right corner of the page, click on the yellow link to access Penn State's "institutional account."
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). Note: To view full-text use "click here to access via institutional account" or create a free account to save items.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
The American Society of Testing Materials is the largest creator of standards in the U.S. Its database offers full text of all current ASTM standards.
Provides full-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards. Content on the ASTM Compass platform to which we do NOT have access: ASTM Videos, AATCC, API, AWS and AWWA.

ISO Standards
Penn State does not have an online database that includes all ISO standards. However, you can use the ISO web site to identify standards of interest to you, and contact your librarian to help track them down.
FDA Standards
Link to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's standards, including standards for medical devices.
Standards 101
Guide on standards development, background, and common questions from the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM).
Standards Subject Guide
Links to additional resources for finding standards.

IHS Standards
Store catalog that allows for searching of technical industry, government, and military standards citations.
Document Center
Search for standards citations by subject, industry sector, European regulation, or US government FSC code. Include over 500,000 standards from all disciplines and jurisdictions with a strength in medical devices.
Tech Street
Provides access to 500,000 international, national, state, and local industry codes and standards citations.
Society for Standards Professionals
Provides links to U.S. and internationals government, non-government, and commercial standards bodies.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) [Government Publishing Office]
See especially Title 29 ("Labor"), which includes OSHA regulations, and Title 40 ("Protection of the Environment").
FDSYS (Federal Digital System)
In addition to federal law and regulations, FDSys provides access to federal government publications and documents. Especially helpful if you are seeking from agencies besides the EPA.

Nexis Uni
A database comprising federal law and court cases, national news, and many other resources.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.

Pennsylvania Law Subject Guide
Links to the Pennsylvania Constitution, state statue, regulations, case law, executive orders, and case law. Most links go to web sites authored by Pennsylvania state government agencies.
DEP Online Library
Links to the environmental laws of Pennsylvania, official forms, technical guidance, and agency publications.