STEM Librarian
Andrea Pritt
she/her/Ms.
Contact:
Library 204A
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
717-948-6071
Finding Books
Books are the bridge between your textbook and scholarly journal articles. They are usually your best resource for "the basics" -- an introduction, overview, and history of your topic. The quickest way to find books is to search the libraries book databases:
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new windowList of books, videos, and other items owned by Penn State.
- SpringerLink (full text journal articles and electronic books) This link opens in a new windowThe library's largest database for engineering e-books. If you only need a few resources and you're comfortable reading books online, start here. Although the titles in this database are also listed in the CAT, SpringerLink's search features are more user-friendly.
- Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new windowA large collection of engineering books, many dating from the 2010s. Although all of these titles are listed in the CAT, CRCnetBASE enables you to search the books' full text.
- Google Book SearchGoogle's search engine for books. Includes some partial and full text.
Another way to find books is to "browse" -- go to the library's book shelves and take a look.
At Penn State Harrisburg Library, Mechanical Engineering books are in the "TJ" section, on the 3rd floor. However, you may find additional items in the "TA" (General Engineering), "TC" (Hydraulics), and "TS" (Manufacturing) areas, too.
If you are designing a component for a specific type of system, there may be additional areas of the library to explore. For example, if you are concerned with mechanical aspects of building construction, see the "TH" section. Information about mechanical components for vehicles might be found in the "TL" (motor vehicles) area of the library.
The "T" list within the Library of Congress Outline tells you which topics are shelved under which sections.
Some Recommended ME Handbooks
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780199587438Publication Date: 2013-06-10Over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Materials and Mechanical Design by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781118907757Publication Date: 2015-02-05Provides a quick guide to specialized areas you may encounter in your work, giving you access to the basics of each and pointing you toward trusted resources for further reading, if needed.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780080977591Publication Date: 2013-11-04A straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications.
Machinery's Handbook by Call Number: REF TJ151.M3 (1st floor). Last year's copies on 3rd floor.ISBN: 9780831130916Publication Date: 2016-03-01The most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world.
Mathematical Formulas for Industrial and Mechanical Engineering by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780124202221Publication Date: 2014-01-09Covers mathematics formulas needed for Industrial and Mechanical Engineering. Includes practical examples and figures to help explain concepts.
Applied Welding Engineering by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780123919168Publication Date: 2011-09-30Designed to provide a practical in-depth instruction for the selection of the materials incorporated in the joint, joint inspection, and the quality control for the final product. Welding Engineers will also find this book a valuable source for developing new welding processes or procedures for new materials.
Electric Motors and Drives by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780080983325Publication Date: 2013-05-10Intended for non-specialist users of electric motors and drives, filling the gap between math- and theory-based academic textbooks and the more prosaic 'handbooks', which provide useful detail but little opportunity for the development of real insight and understanding.
Handbook of Farm, Dairy and Food Machinery Engineering by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780123858818Publication Date: 2013-06-27An essential reference for engineers who need to understand those aspects of the food industry from farm machinery to food storage facilities to the machinery that processes and packages our foods.
Handbook of Manufacturing Engineering and Technology by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781447146704Publication Date: 2014-12-14Provides overviews and in-depth and authoritative analyses on the basic and cutting-edge manufacturing technologies and sciences across a broad spectrum of areas.
Hydraulics and Pneumatics by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780080966755Publication Date: 2011-01-28Serves as a guide to hydraulic and pneumatic systems operations. It features mathematical content that has been presented in a style understandable even to beginners and non-experts. It has nine chapters that cover both hydraulic and pneumatic machinery, their fundamental principles including safety standards and regulations.
Instrument and Automation Engineers' Handbook: Measurement and Safety by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781498727662Publication Date: 2016-09-29The Instrument and Automation Engineers' Handbook (IAEH) is the #1 process automation handbook in the world. Volume one, Measurement and Safety, covers safety sensors and the detectors of physical properties.
Instrument and Automation Engineers' Handbook: Analysis and Analyzers by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781498727693Publication Date: 2016-09-28Volume two of the IAEH, Analysis and Analyzers, describes the availability, features, capabilities, and selection of analyzers used for determining the quality and compositions of liquid, gas, and solid products in many processing industries.
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, Second Edition by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780071839778Publication Date: 2015-10-26A fully revised guide to manufacturing engineering technologies, principles, and applications.
Springer Handbook of Robotics by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9783319325521Publication Date: 2016-12-05Provides a state-of-the-art view on the various aspects in the rapidly developing field of robotics.
