The most comprehensive encyclopedia available on the U.S. government's responses to poverty from the colonial era to the present day. Alphabetically-organized entries on policy directives, legislation, important individuals, and organizations that have influenced government approaches to dealing with poverty in the United States
Poverty in America examines why poverty remains pervasive, what it means to be poor in America today, which groups are most likely to be poor, the root causes of poverty, and the effects of policy on poverty.
This work provides a thorough overview and analysis of the increasing gap between the Americans at the top and bottom of the economic scale. Includes a selection of documents and excerpts relating to how Americans perceive the gap that exists between the haves and the have-nots, such as Andrew Carnegie's famous "Gospel of Wealth" (1889). An up-to-date selection of statistics, enabling the reader to get a clear, quantitative sense of the extent of income and wealth differences in contemporary America.
a collection of articles in three volumes exploring the causes, history, and enduring effects of poverty. The scope of this encyclopedia encompasses the relative individual and societal aspects of poverty. Additionally, the Encyclopedia examines the instiituions that focus on the alleviation of poverty, including religious charities and the global organizations such as the United Nations.
World Poverty provides an authoritative and balanced examination of the many facets of world poverty and the policy issues surrounding it. Annotated timeline of significant events, conferences, and declarations, dating from the 8th century to the present. Diverse biographical sketches of key individuals.
a study about the status and trends in human well-being as it varies from nation to nation worldwide. A basic premise is that human well-being comes from a nation's physical, social, economic, and political macro systems. A metric of descriptive statistics is built for each system, and then it is aggregated into one metric to gauge the level of human well-being in each nation.
The volume has six parts: Poverty in the 21st Century | Labor Market Factors | Poverty Policy | Poverty Dynamics | Dimensions of Poverty | Trends and Issues in Anti-Poverty Policy.
A goal of the handbook is to stimulate further research on poverty.
The Encyclopedia of Homelessness is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about this complex topic which impacts not only the homeless but all of society. The Encyclopedia focuses on the current situation in the United States, with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world.
Padro begins by defining a social safety net and discussing the economic health of various nations and their definition of poverty. Traditional safety net programs, such as social security, unemployment insurance and workers compensation, Medicare and Medicaid, and the welfare system in the United States and other countries are discussed in depth. Additional chapters provide detailed analysis devoted solely to programs affecting women and children.