Social Science Librarian
Stephen (Social Sciences) Woods
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 208 Paterno Library, University Park
Phone: 814.865.0665
U.S. Poverty Data and Statistics
- Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Fact Sheets (BEARFACTS)The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides data about the geographic distribution of economic activity and growth in the United States. Data on gross domestic product by state, as well as personal income by local area, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.
- BEA Interactive Dataontains information on Gross Domestic Product by State; Quarterly State Personal Income; Annual State Personal Income and Employment; and Personal Income by County. These computer-generated narratives describe an area’s personal income using current estimates, growth rates, and a breakdown of the sources of personal income. Interactive Data is available as:
For statistical data in other categories, see:
- Regional Economic AccountsStatistics and data from the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
- Guidelines for citing BEA publicationsProvides examples of citations for all different types of BEA publications.
U.S. Census Bureau Income and Poverty Data
- Income & PovertyIncome reports from several major household surveys and programs. Income surveys differ in the length and detail of the questionnaire, the number of households included (sample size), and the methodology used to collect and process data.
- PovertyU.S. Government poverty data from household surveys and programs.
Sources of U.S. Census Bureau Poverty Data
The following are surveys employed by the Census Bureau to determine levels of poverty and inequality.
- Current Population Survey Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC)The source of official national poverty estimates.
- American Community Survey (ACS)Provides single and multi-year estimates for smaller areas. Click on Data and Documentation for 1-year, 3-year, and 5-year data products.
- Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)SIPP provides longitudinal estimates.
- Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE)Provides model-based poverty estimates for counties and school districts.
- Description of Income and Poverty Data SourcesHelps to determine which survey or program meets your specific needs.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States (1878-2012)This is the official, authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published by the US Census Bureau.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Searching Statistical Abstracts:
- Do a keyword search for the relevant tables.
- Find the Section that is appropriate. Currently Section 13: Income, Expenditures, Poverty, and Wealth
Essays:
Each section begins with an essay that will explain what surveys and data sources were used to create the tables. Also provide information about the historical extent of the data. For example, the original poverty thresholds were based on the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 1961 Economy Food Plan.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowProvides time series data on numerous topics including: Economic Inequality and Poverty, Social Insurance and Public Assistance and other economic and demographic data. Also includes useful essays to understand the time periods that the US government collected data by topics.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Poverty GuidelinesThe Poverty Guidelines are issued each year in the Federal Register by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), .Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE). The guidelines are a simplification of the poverty thresholds for use for administrative purposes – for instance, determining financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
The poverty thresholds are the original version of the federal poverty measure. They are updated each year by the Census Bureau. The thresholds are used mainly for statistical purposes – for instance, preparing estimates of the number of Americans in poverty each year. (In other words, all official poverty population figures are calculated using the poverty thresholds, not the guidelines.) - Poverty Estimates, Trends, and AnalysisOffice of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation website with links to statistics and data sources for poverty and income analysis. Also includes links to various poverty research centers.
Welfare Rules Database Project [The Urban Institute]
- Welfare Rules DatabaseA comprehensive resource for anyone comparing cash assistance programs between states, researching changes in cash assistance rules within a single state, or simply looking for the most up-to-date information on the rules governing cash assistance programs in the United States.
Bureau of Labor Statistics [U.S. Department of Labor]
- Quarterly Census of Employment and WagesA quarterly count of employment and wages reported by employers covering 98 percent of U.S. jobs, available at the county, metropolitan statistical areas (MSA), state, and national levels by industry.
Homeless and Homelessness
- Homelessness AssistanceU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) site providing information, tools, and resources for homelessness assistance.
- Population in Emergency and Transitional Shelters (PHC-T-12)U.S. Census Bureau report: Population in Selected Group Quarters for the United States, States, Counties with 100 or More People in Emergency and Transitional Shelters, and Census Tracts with 100 or More People in Emergency and Transitional Shelters, and for Puerto Rico: 2000. Available in Excel, PDF, and ASCII formats.
- United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH)USICH is an independent agency within the Federal executive branch. The agency consists of 19 Federal Cabinet secretaries and agency heads. The mission of the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) is to coordinate the Federal response to homelessness and to create a national partnership at every level of government and with the private sector to reduce and end homelessness in the nation while maximizing the effectiveness of the Federal Government in contributing to the end of homelessness.