Library Guides: Video Resources: Group Screenings (Public Performance Rights)

Videos in the Classroom

Showing copyrighted videos in face-to-face teaching is permitted under U.S. copyright law. For more information, see our Copyright FAQ:

Do I need permission to perform a copyrighted work at Penn State?

Note that most consumer-licensed streaming platforms (like Netflix, Apple TV, Amazon Prime, etc.) are for individual use only and the terms of use for these services may be more restrictive than copyright law.

Netflix offers one-time educational screenings for some Netflix original documentaries. For more information, see the Netflix page on educational screenings.

Public Performances

For screenings not affiliated with a course or the curriculum, our Copyright FAQ can help you decide when to request permission from the video’s copyright holder prior to showing a copyrighted video:

Do I need permission to perform a copyrighted work at Penn State?

The University Libraries’ collection includes DVDs and streaming video titles whose purchase prices included public performance rights (PPR), meaning the library has already paid the copyright owner for permission to show the video publicly. To find out which library videos have public performance rights, use our library catalog:

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
Select Keyword and then type "includes public performance rights" (with quotes) in the search box.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

In addition to the above, several of our library’s streaming video databases permit group screenings outside of the classroom:

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Selected videos on Kanopy include PPR for screenings where no admission is charged. These videos are indicated by a PPR icon in Kanopy.
Kanopy distributes documentaries, independent and world cinema, and classic and award-winning films from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries. To find out when the license for a Kanopy video expires, contact the Music and Media Center at musiccenter@psu.edu.

Alexander Street Press
Video databases supplied by Alexander Street Press, including Academic Video Online (AVON), PBS Collection, and more, include PPR for screenings where no admission is charged. Videos from Film Platform are not included and PPR must be obtained directly from Film Platform.

Docuseek2 Collection This link opens in a new window
Videos from Docuseek include PPR for screenings where no admission is charged. Screenings must not be advertised outside of the campus community.
Docuseek2 distributes online documentaries from a variety of filmmakers, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Film Movement, First Run Features, Icarus Films, the National Film Board of Canada, and Women Make Movies. Penn State's subscription includes the complete GOOD DOCS collection. Search for specific titles or browse a list of documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.

If you would like to screen a video and the library does not already have PPR, you may be able to purchase a screening license.

Swank College Campus provides screening rights for many feature films. (Films licensed by the library and available in the Swank Digital Campus portal are only licensed for classroom use and do not include PPR.)
Janus Films provides screening rights for Criterion releases.
For films not licensed by Swank or Janus, contact the distributor to find out if screening rights are available.

For additional information or questions about public performance rights for videos, please contact our Office of Scholarly Communications and Copyright.