Newsreel coverage 1920-1967. Contains archival and recent content from The History Channel, PBS, California Newsreel, Universal, and numerous other documentary and educational media sources.
Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest. Includes selected content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Also includes the entire series of newsreels from Universal. Transcripts are fully searchable and synchronized to the video. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.
From 1935 to 1967, Time Inc's newsreel series, "The March of Time®" chronicled the events of our lives. These award-winning motion pictures recorded global events and brought them to big screens around the world and then later, television. The collection also contains historic footage dating back to 1913.
Full surviving broadcast run, 1947 to date, includes transcripts. Cross-searchable.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.
Includes Newsreels, NBC News, Today Show, NBC Sports. Transcripts available for most videos. Download and embed videos in documents, presentations, etc. Try the NBC Learn resource guide
Provides access to NBC's video archive, NBC News, Today Show, sports and 26 subject collections. Researchers may download playlists and video to insert in course-related materials. Partner content from Washington Post and others.
Advertisements included with news programming - search advertisements for products or brands (e.g., Campbell's soup).
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. Material in the archive can be identified for use through our TV-News Search Database. In addition, through its detailed content related to news events, this resource also serves as a unique reference tool for studying historical and political events. Users will have the ability to view online video from the Archive's collection of CNN material. if they have the RealOne media player from RealNetworks. This software can be obtained from the Real Networks website.
The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. Content available online or onsite at WBGH (Boston) or the Library of Congress.
Associated Press & British Movietone on YouTube [Historical news content]