Contact Heidi Abbey Moyer (hna2@psu.edu) in Archives and Special Collections for access to the Three Mile Island (TMI) Collection, which is an eclectic and unique mix of artifacts, books, bumper stickers, magazines, memorabilia, newspapers, pamphlets, photocopy lore, pin-back buttons, postcards, posters, REACT-OR board game, t-shirts, technical reports, vinyl records, and more! This collection features rare ephemeral materials that are often satirical and tongue-in-cheek reactions to the nuclear accident, which are juxtaposed with U.S. government responses to the meltdown as seen in reports and publications from various government agencies and the nuclear energy industry.

Includes the papers of anti-nuclear activists Edwin K. Charles (TMI-Charles), Beverly Hess (TMI-Hess), Jane Lee (TMI-Lee), and John H. Murdock (TMI-Murdoch); the papers of news reporter Robert Swift Papers (TMI-Swift); the papers of Morris K. Udall (TMI-Udall), a Congressman who launched a federal investigation of TMI; the papers of the Public Interest Resource Center (TMI-PIRG) and TMI-Alert (TMI-TMIA), and other primary resources pertaining to TMI.

Dick Thornburgh was the Governor of Pennsylvania when the TMI accident took place. The Thornburgh Papers include at least 37 boxes of pertinent materials.

Offers microfilm of the York Dispatch, the York Gazette, and the York Record newspapers.

Repository of the papers of Victor Gilinsky (collection 82091) and Richard T. Kennedy (collection 83063) who were serving on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission when the TMI accident took place.

Provides microfilm of all issues of the Press and Journal newspaper.

Located in Rockville, MD, the NRC Library provides online and print access to documents generated by the Commission. See especially ADAMS, the library’s catalog of publicly-available documents.

A major collection of primary sources on pacifism, including nuclear disarmament. See especially the papers of Milton Lowenthal (DG-191), who was an anti-nuclear activist in the Harrisburg area.

Repository for the records of Pennsylvania’s government agencies. Includes the Records of the Public Utilities Commission (RG-37) which investigated the TMI accident, the papers of Dick Thornburgh (MG-404), who was Governor during the time, and other primary sources.

Located in Harrisburg, SLP possesses the largest collection of state government documents, and a substantial collection of federal documents. Search its online catalog to find materials concerning TMI.

Holds "several thousand videotapes, reports, and photographs that were generated during the successful cleanup and recovery of the Three Mile Island Unit 2 (TMI-2) nuclear reactor." Access to these materials is limited. Please contact the Special Collections Library for additional information.

Offers microfilm of York newspapers.