Library Guides: Slavic Languages and Literatures: Books and Reference Sources

Finding Books and Media

Searching the library catalog

Use the library catalog to search for books, journals, newspapers, videos, music, and more.

Some call numbers for Slavic languages and literatures

Numbers in the PG class for language:

PG1-499: Slavic philology and languages (General)

PG2001-2826: Russian language

PG3801-3899: Ukrainian language

Numbers in the PG class for literature:

PG500-585: Slavic literature (General)

PG2900-3698: Russian literature

PG3900-3998 Ukrainian literature

Books and materials not at Penn State
Suggestions for finding books not owned by Penn State
Russian Books of the 18th Century
A collection of books printed in Russia from 1725-1801 based on Svodnyi katalog russkoi knigi grazhdanskoi pechati XVIII veka. Most titles were curated from the impressive digitization project, Natsional’naia Elektronnaia Biblioteka, operated by the Russian State Library. This collection is curated by the Slavic Reference Service (SRS) and is open to all researchers.

Language Reference Sources

Russian language reference resources

Oxford Russian Dictionary by Oxford Dictionary (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198614203
Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Starter Russian Dictionary by Della Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 0198600321
Publication Date: 1997
Russian-English Comprehensive Dictionary by Oleg Benyukh
ISBN: 0781805066
Publication Date: 1997
Russian for All Occasions: A Russian-English Dictionary of Collocations and Expressions by Shamil Khairov; John Dunn
ISBN: 9781315660226
Publication Date: 2019
Presents 10,000 formal and informal modern Russian expressions that users are likely to encounter either in speech or writing.
Bolʹshoĭ russko-angliĭskiĭ slovarʹ v novoĭ redakt͡sii : 210 000 slov,slovosochetaniĭ, idiomaticheskikh vyrazheniĭ, poslovit͡s i pogovorok Izd. 2-e., sereotipnoe.
ISBN: 9785771701097
Publication Date: 2008
Russian-English dictionary
Иноязычная лексика в русском языке новейшего периода : монография / Н.В. Габдреева, А.В. Агеева, А.Р.
ISBN: 9785976516779
Publication Date: 2013
Contemporary foreign vocabulary in the Russian language
Kakoe slovo vybratʹ? : leksicheskie i grammaticheskie normy russkogo literaturnogo i͡azyka
ISBN: 9785488021952
Publication Date: 2009
Which word to choose?: Lexical and grammatical norms of the Russian literary language by Natalia Nikolaevna Solov'yova
Новые тенденции в русском языке начала ХХI века : коллективная монография / Под редакцией Л.В. Рацибурской.
ISBN: 9785976518100
Publication Date: 2015
New trends in Russian language at the beginning of the 21st century: collective monograph by L.V. (Larisa Viktorovna) Ratsiburskaya
Словарь модных слов : языковая картина современности / Вл. Новиков.
ISBN: 9785462010903
Publication Date: 2011
Dictionary of fashionable words: language perspectives of our time
Ustoĭchivye sravnenii͡a russkogo i͡azyka : tematicheskiĭ slovarʹ
ISBN: 9785976512399
Publication Date: 2013
Lasting comparisons of the Russian language: a thematic dictionary
Ėnt͡siklopedicheskiĭ slovarʹ-spravochnik lingvisticheskikh terminov i poni͡atiĭ : russkiĭ i͡azyk
ISBN: 9785893498943
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedic dictionary-reference of linguistic terms and concepts: Russian language

Slavic language reference resources

Slavic Linguistic Atlas
"For the first time in the history of the Slavic linguistics, all Slavic languages and dialects at the immense territory in Europe have been studied using the single programme and the single transcription ... The Slavic Linguistic Atlas is issued in two series: the first one covers vocabulary, word-formation, semantics; the second one includes grammar, phonetics and phonology."