Handbooks and Encyclopedias
A great first step in research is to consult material published in traditional books. Handbooks and encyclopedias provide a general overview of the topic and important formulas, concepts, and foundational information. The items listed below are available via the Penn State Libraries.
Encyclopedia of polymer science and technologyCall Number: OnlineServes as a unique source of reference to the entire field of polymer science and technology.
Plastic Design Library Book SeriesCall Number: OnlineA unique series, comprising technology and applications handbooks, data books and practical guides. The main focus is on materials (plastics and elastomers), processes and adhesives - in design, manufacturing and application contexts.
Plastics Materials and ProcessesCall Number: OnlineExplains all of the materials and processes as well as their major application areas and usages.
Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering TermsCall Number: OnlineComprehensive overview of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers.
e-Book Collections
Full-text eBooks and online tools from PSU Databases. Requires a PSU login to access.
- Knovel E-Books This link opens in a new windoweBooks including handbooks and manuals on plastics and rubber. Also includes some online graphing tools, materials information under different conditions, and equations for calculating using your data.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windoweBooks including polymer science and molding subjects.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowIncludes eBooks, manuals, and handbooks; graphing tools; material information and calculators; problem sets; videos; and much more on polymers and molding.
Searching the Catalog
Use these links to search by topic within the Penn State Libraries catalog. Includes both eBooks and print books.