Reference and Instruction Librarian
General Background Information
Women and Health by
This volume on global women's health provides a broad overview of many conditions that impact women's health, including social and economic inequities and examples of health advocacy. The health and wellbeing of the world's population matters, but many of the female half experience unequal access to information and care that increases their health risks. This global women's health volume delves into a number of health and social factors that combine to create a lower quality of life for women. Each chapter represents a global region, featuring three to four countries, and reviews health goals and outcomes relative to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and World Health Organization discussions on social determinants of health. Chapters are organized to invite readers to consider environmental conditions and social determinants that create gender inequities in health around the globe. Cultural forces that impact health, including environmental risks; access to health care; reproductive health; infectious and noncommunicable diseases; behavioral/mental health; and intersectional identity considerations such as religion, ethnicity, and LGBTQ identity issues. Chapters provide historical background in order to help readers better understand women's lives as they are today Sidebars placed throughout the text offer insightful information that enhance the reader's experience Photographs help to illuminate and support the text to pique reader interest A Chronology will provide an at-a-glance timeline of women and health throughout world history, from ancient times to the present
ISBN: 9781440861994Publication Date: 2019-11-15
Women's Lives Around the World by
Providing an in-depth look at the lives of women and girls in approximately 150 countries, this multivolume reference set offers readers transnational and postcolonial analysis of the many issues that are critical to the success of women and girls. For millennia, women around the world have shouldered the responsibility of caring for their families. But in recent decades, women have emerged as a major part of the global workforce, balancing careers and family life. How did this change happen? And how are societies in developing countries responding and adapting to women's newer roles in society? This four-volume encyclopedia examines the lives of women around the world, with coverage that includes the education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and established norms of power and control. Organized geographically, each volume presents detailed entries about the lives of women in particular countries. Additionally, each volume offers sidebars that spotlight topics related to women and girls in specific regions or focus on individual women's lives and contributions. Primary source documents include sections of countries' constitutions that are relevant to women and girls, United Nations resolutions and national resolutions regarding women and girls, and religious statements and proclamations about women and girls. The organization of the set enables readers to take an in-depth look at individual countries as well as to make comparisons across countries. Presents a broad postcolonial feminist examination of the lives of women and girls worldwide through essays about the female experience in individual countries Provides sidebars that highlight details about individual women and interesting topics that affect women and girls Includes primary source documents that offer readers a direct look at important statements, laws, and policies about women and girls
ISBN: 9781610697118Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Black Power Encyclopedia: from Black Is Beautiful to Urban Uprisings [2 Volumes] by
An invaluable resource that documents the Black Power Movement by its cultural representation and promotion of self-determination and self-defense, and showcases the movement's influence on Black communities in America from 1965 to the mid-1970s. * Gives students and general readers a comprehensive overview of the Black Power Movement and an understanding of its importance within the turbulence and politics of the 1960s and 1970s in the United States as well as in the context of modern-day civil rights * Provides insight into important concepts such as Black self-determination, Black consciousness, independent Black politics, and independent institutions * Features contributions from premier Black Power scholars as well as Black Power activists * Offers topical and biographical entries, a timeline of events, and a bibliography of key print and nonprint sources of additional information
ISBN: 9781440840074Publication Date: 2018-07-11- Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture Across History [2 Volumes] by
This reference offers reliable knowledge about women's diverse faith practices throughout history and prehistory, and across cultures. * Offers nearly 300 reference articles by international scholars of religion, women, and history * Provides an overview of the religious experiences of women across time, faiths, and cultures * Devotes sections to particular religious traditions to provide information about the role of women and the feminine devine within those faiths * Presents reference information about the experiences of women within religions * Directs the user to additional resources via suggestions for further reading and an end-of-work bibliography
ISBN: 9781440848506Publication Date: 2018-11-30
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA good place to get background information on your topic.
Database Sources
- LionSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, magazine articles, journal articles, all in one place.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowOne of the major databases in the field of women and gender studies.
Find additional resources via the following library guides.