Strength is academic journals, particularly, if you are looking for current resources, as it includes publications from 1972 through the present. Also includes magazine and trade publications, newspapers, and ebooks
This resource provides access to over 232,000 records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Women's Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Coverage: 1972 to date; citations and abstracts only. Updated semiannually. App information
Like Women's Studies International, LGBT Life is a great resources for finding academic journal articles. It's content differs by focusing specifically on LGBTQ issues.
GLBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals. App information
the portal to an archival collection of publications related to women's issues, which was collected by Aletta H. Jacobs and her husband, C.V. Gerritsen. The collection contains both periodicals and monographs, which span a 400 year period. It also includes resources in languages other than English.
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights through 1945. Includes materials from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
an excellent choice for primary sources related to women's rights in the United States. You can perform an advanced search by selecting search in the upper left portion of the home page. You can also choose the browse option, which is also in the upper left portion of the home page. Using this option, you can browse by a number of categories. For primary sources, I like to "browse documents," and sort my results by date. In this way, you can view all the available documents for a time period that you might be studying
The database includes books, images, audiofiles, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies on women's social movements from colonial times to the present.
Backed by a global editorial board of 130 leading scholars from around theworld, this landmark collection [Women and Social Movements, International]of primary sources illuminates a vast area of modern history. Through thewritings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, andconference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and socialmovements were born, this online collection traces the global history ofwomen's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence onthe course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.
a great resource for both primary and secondary resources related to LGBTQA topics. You can search from the main page by Subject, or the Browse option permits your to search by content type. Here, select the "Archival Collections" options for great primary source content.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Although very specialized, this database includes Cuban primary resources spanning from 1898-1958, which focus on feminists and feminist movements during that period.
A collection of primary sources-texts, letters, essays, radio broadcasts, and memoirs. The documents, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
150,000 pages of content written by 1,325 women. Despite the title some correspondence and journal entries take place outside of North America. The Search menu permits you to search by keyword across content type, or specifically within letters or diaries. The Browse menu allows for searching by author, year, place, and event.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950 plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies will enhance the use of the database. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.
This is a great resource for finding primary sources related to women's popular culture.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends.
While it is a generalized database, Project Muse has excellent offerings for WGSS resources. On the main page's Research Areas tab, select "Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality." This will give you a list of all WGSS-related resources. On the left, check the box for "only content I have full access to." This will assure that you access everything that you see. You can also narrow by Content Type, between Books and Journals.
To keyword search for WGSS resources in Project Muse, select "Advanced Search" at the top right of the main page. In the left-hand navigation panel, check the box next to "Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality" in the Research Area menu. Then type in your keyword in the New Search search box, and click the orange magnifying glass to the right.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Jstor also has great a great WGSS subject tool. One thing to keep in mind is that Jstor's resources tend to be more dated than some of its fellow databases. So, it is not the best resource, if you are looking for the most recently published resources related to a topic. To search for WGSS resources, select "Advanced Search" from the Search menu. Then, select the square to the left of "Feminist & Women's Studies" in the Journal Filter menu. Next, scroll back to the top of the page. Type your keyword into the search box, and click the blue search button.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.