Library Guides: Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences: General Resources

Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles across the science disciplines, including meteorology and atmospheric sciences.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Useful index to materials on fluid flow and physics of the atmosphere.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
AMS Journals (Meteorology) This link opens in a new window
This large collection of journal articles published by the American Meteorological Society is useful though not as comprehensive as other databases.
Search the journals of the American Meteorological Society (AMS).
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
an index to scientific and technical reports, from 1964 to date. Sources of the reports include: NOAA, NASA, the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, EPA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries.
NTRL is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.
Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index. Useful for materials on air pollution and particulates.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.

Antarctic and Cold Regions Bibliographies
Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
AULIMP focuses on military, geopolitical and aeronautical topics.

Reference Tools

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition by John Pyle (Editor); Judith A. Curry (Editor); Gerald R. North (Editor); Fuqing Zhang (Editor)
Call Number: QC854.E539
ISBN: 9780123822260
Publication Date: 2014-09-14
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition is an authoritative resource covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. More than 320 articles and 1,600 figures and photographs.
Encyclopedia of World Climatology by John E. Oliver (Editor); John E. Oliver (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402032660
Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Regional climates are understood by relating them to distant atmospheric events. Examination of events, from global warming to advances in satellite and radar climatology, provides keys to understanding. Similarly, such articles as microclimatology and urban climates provide insights into the scales of climate.
Smithsonian Meteorological Tables by Robert J. List
Call Number: QC873.S6 1966
ISBN: 0874741157
Publication Date: 1984-09-01
1951 ed. is online
A Dictionary of Weather by Storm Dunlop
ISBN: 9780199541447
Publication Date: 2008-10-11
An authoritative and wide-ranging new edition of A Dictionary of Weather containing almost 2,000 entries on all areas of the subject.