- Major networks provide a summary of broadcast and length of segment
- Advertisements included with news programming - search advertisements for products or brands (e.g., Campbell's soup)
- Presidential speeches & press conferences
- Some special programming - political conventions, some news programs such as Nightline, events (e.g., Columbine, Watergate hearings, War in Iraq, 9/11/2001)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. Material in the archive can be identified for use through our TV-News Search Database. In addition, through its detailed content related to news events, this resource also serves as a unique reference tool for studying historical and political events. Users will have the ability to view online video from the Archive's collection of CNN material. if they have the RealOne media player from RealNetworks. This software can be obtained from the Real Networks website.
Provides 450+ hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts of 60 MINUTES. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles complement 60 MINUTES.
This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. The broad range of content offers boundless applications for students and researchers. This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content.
Over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run, from 1947 to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Content consists of thousands of interviews, panels, and debates.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.