The Bureau’s website provides detailed population, business, and economic data that can be used to identify demographic shifts and the market for new products and services.
Links to various data sources provided by the Agency for Healthcare Research Quality, including accessibility of care, healthcare disparities, healthcare quality, healthcare spending, healthcare use, hospitalizations, and data by state and payer type.
Data collected by the U.S. census related to health insurance and health access. The Census Bureau also produces valuable data related to the population of an area, including demographic and economic statistics that are valuable to health care administrators.
Data available regarding all issues related to Medicare/Medicaid, including data by provider type, for special interest populations, and trend reports.
"A Private Foundation Working Toward a High Performance Health System." The foundation maintains an interactive United States map allows comparison of state-specific rankings and benchmark data between states on a range of issues, including performance indicators and financial sustainability. Performance Snapshots offers a compendium of charts and narratives that plot the progress of the United States healthcare system towards high efficiency and performance. The Child Health System Performance offers state specific details on a range of children’s health indicators and allows for regional comparison and analysis.
The Kaiser Family Foundation provides data related to healthcare reform, minority health and health disparities, Medicaid/CHIP/Medicare, Costs and Insurance, and the Uninsured. The Kaiser Foundation includes brief fact sheets related to specific issues and larger data sets including charts and narratives with the most recent data.
The results of MGMA surveys have been the industry standard in benchmarking and organization assessment tools for over 50 years. MGMA allows the search of all surveys and summaries for relevant data and benchmarking figures related to management of healthcare organizations.
The National Quality Forum produces a set of endorsed performance measures that are used to measure and quantify healthcare processes, outcomes, patient perceptions, and organizational structures/systems associated with the provision of high quality healthcare. Performance measures endorsed by the NQF are used by hospitals, healthcare systems, and government agencies (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid) for public reporting of performance and quality improvement research. The NQF provides the surveys used by organizations as benchmarking and assessment tools.
The NCQA research department is responsible for expanding and enhancing the use of health plan-quality data. The Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) produced by the National Committee for Quality Assurance is a tool used by more than 90% of America's health plans to measure performance on dimensions of care and service. HEDIS consists of 71 measures across 8 domains of care. Because so many plans collect HEDIS data, and because the measures are so specifically defined, HEDIS makes it possible to compare the performance of health plans on an "apples-to-apples" basis. Health plans also use HEDIS results themselves to see where they need to focus their improvement efforts.
The Joint Commission’s annual report on improving quality and safety among accredited hospitals includes data on a variety of measures from over 3,000 Joint Commission accredited hospitals.
The Area Health Resources Files (AHRF) include data on Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment at the county, state and national levels, from over 50 data sources
Data from the PA Department of Health including health statistics for Pennsylvania residents (vital statistics, chronic disease, behavioral risk, communicable disease, health facilities, and minority health) community health assessment data, and links to other state and federal agencies reporting similar data.
The Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council is an independent state agency responsible for addressing the problem of escalating health costs, ensuring the quality of health care and increasing access for all citizens regardless of ability to pay. The Hospital Performance Report 2008 is available, including data related to 49 treatments and surgical procedures provided by Pennsylvania's general acute care hospitals, patient outcome results (including length of stay and readmission), and hospital charges. Other data sources available include: Hospital Financial Analysis and Measuring the Quality of Commercial HMOs.
one of the best starting places for a wide range of social and economic data this site pulls data from the whole range of agencies in the United Nations family and beyond.
the World Health Organization is the primary authority within the UN for directing global health initiatives. For more in-depth country information look at the Regional Office information.
a subscription service available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account that has a robust statistical component (with data not available on the free site) as well as in-depth policy studies.
Full-text book and serial publications from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Also includes many of the data sets available from the organization.
A companion database to Statistical Insight, Data-Planet allows you to construct your own data comparisons, create charts and graphs, export data, and more. Contains a wealth of data on health indicators.
Online service that enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. Data includes a wide range of social and demographic data both from the US and international sources.
More than 200 tables on U.S. elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S government, foreign, military, social and economic policy. Contains some time series data. Data can be exported for use in Excel or other statistical software. Online via SageKnowledge.