Addresses the state of the art in the application of operations research models to problems in preventing terrorist attacks, planning and preparing for emergencies, and responding to and recovering from disasters.
Call Number: HV6432.M386 2012 -- use "I WANT IT" to order
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Provides government officials, corporate risk managers, business and security executives, first responders, and all homeland security and emergency prepared-ness professionals with a wide-ranging and definitive overview of critical homeland security issues.
Provides a rich and relevant exploration of the concept of 'homeland security' throughout the nation's history, leading up to an examination of the new Homeland Security Department and its mission and impact.
Call Number: HV551.3.S95 2015 -- use "I WANT IT" to order
Publication Date: 2014-07-31
Paying special attention to the role of key actors--decision makers at the federal, state and local levels, scientists, engineers, civil and military personnel, officials and first responders--the author explores how social science research can be usefully applied to policy development and every day practice.
List of books (and other items) owned by Penn State.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million titles. Updates: Hourly as new records are added or updated.
The best source for think tank papers with an international bent. Most are full-text.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
Premier tool for homeland security policy and strategy research. Includes homeland security strategy, policy, and research documents published by: Federal, state and local government agencies; International governments and institutions; and research institutions, universities, think tanks.
Summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Coverage: The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present.
PSU subscribed subjects include Business & Management, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
The complete texts of the Oxford Handbooks in multiple disciplines and subject areas. These Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Handbooks are an excellent source for reviews of literature around major themes. PSU subscribed subjects include Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.
Publishes material on international security, including defense, strategy, and terrorism.
Interdisciplinary and diverse in political perspective, Praeger Security International Online publishes material on international security, including defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism.
Books on world development, published by the World Bank.
World Bank E-Library presents fulltext PDF-format versions of all new World Bank books and selected books beginning in 1984. More than 1,200 titles cover all areas of World Bank interests. This collection complements World Development Sources, the fulltext grey literature collection of World Bank documents and reports.