Homeland Security

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.

Has some journal content covering international affairs. The best source for think tank papers with an international bent. Most are full-text.

Research papers written by the Library of Congress for the use of Congress. Provide objective, non-partisan analysis of public policy issues before the legislature. Full text PDF of reports.

DNSA is a full-text, online resource providing coverage of more than 150,000 curated primary source documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive.

Homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by: Federal, state and local government agencies; International governments and institutions; and Research institutions, universities, think tanks.

Summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice.

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Focuses specifically on the literature of peace and conflict studies.

Database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.

Includes popular magazines, professional magazines, and scholarly journals in all subject areas.

Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history.

Access to demographic info about the U.S. Easily create visual maps and reports.

Important if you want to focus on journal articles that are most heavily cited by other researchers.

The best place to start. Some full text is available in the database. It also includes links out to E-Journal content through Get It!

Covers articles in history journals which may not be covered in databases focused purely on political science. Focuses on United States history.

The material within this collection is vital for studying the history of key political events, global social change and the development of a global movement for human rights covering themes including state violence, political prisoners, minority rights and more.

Search multiple core databases published by EbscoHost for magazines, journals, newspapers and eBooks.

Covers journals in the field of economics, and picks up political economy.

Although you could go directly to Google Scholar, use this link instead. This is the most reliable way to make sure you will see the "Get it! @ Penn State" link.

Like America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains useful articles on political history. Covers nations beyond the U.S.

Does not have the last 3 to 5 years of most journals, but does contain long archives of key journals.

Brief essays by experts on major topics in and assortment of arts and humanities disciplines. Each essay selects and describes the important scholarship on the topic. Items in the annotated bibliographies usually link to library holdings.

Helpful for tracking court cases.

Reports, statistics, and other items from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

PSU subscribed subjects include Business & Management, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

Current, full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences from university presses and scholarly societies.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. It includes citation data and tools that track, analyze and visualize research productivity and metrics.

Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.