Statistics from recent U.S. government publications.
Statistical Universe is a powerful index to statistics and data contained in federal agency government publications. It duplicates all American Statistics Index (ASI) abstract and index records (with monthly updates). In addition, it also links to 800 full-text documents published since 1994 and stored on LEXIS®-NEXIS®, and links to 2,000 publications on federal agency Web sites. The University Library owns most of these collections in paper or microfiche format that do not contain full-text links. ASK for assistance locating information at any University Library Service Desk. The abstracts of all publications covered by ASI in 1996-97 include active links to agency Web sites where the full-texts can be accessed. The primary purpose of these links is to supplement the coverage of Statistical Universe as its full-text coverage expands. The links also enable users to explore an agency's Web site.
Statistics on all aspects of American life from the 1790s to the present.
Provides a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material.
Social and economic data from UN-member countries.
UNSTATS provides data on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO. Data can be displayed in HTML or downloaded in Excel or CSV format.
Includes Gallup, NBC, Fox, and other popular polls.
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as ABC News, CBS News, Fox News, The Gallup Organization, Los Angeles Times, National Opinion Research Center, NBC News, New York Times, Princeton Survey Research Associates, the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland, USA Today and The Washington Post. iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through 350,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
Helpful for poll questions from outside the United States.
A searchable database of questions from more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given. Also included in each record is the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.
Another great source of public opinion polls, both U.S. and international.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion back to the 1930s. The archive provides access to their resources through two principle resources:iPOLL allows you to search a database of more then 400,000 questions from surveys. Response frequencies are provided for each question and for some questions simple cross-tabulations are available [these are designated with a RoperExplorer Icon].Roper Express provides searching capablity and access to the code books and raw data files of Over 10,000 US and 8,000 International polls. Note: there are many questions in iPOLL that do not have corresponding data files in Roper Express.
Newspaper photos and other images from the Associated Press.
An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. The Photo Archive's historical collection continues to grow, featuring images from significant news and features events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available is a photograph of Abraham Lincoln taken in 1844. Permitted uses of these images include: 1. printing copies for educational and research use; 2. creating PowerPoint presentations, slides, and multimedia presentations when usage is confined to the licensed institution; 3. posting on a secure web site available only to authorized users; 4.e-mailing single images to an individual e-mail recipient.
Especially useful for images pertaining to history, nature, and world civilizations.
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to 1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph, providing in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. The database is fully searchable by subject, geography, or image.
Documentaries on all topics, including popular series such as American Experience, Frontline, and NOVA.
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Television news and interviews on a variety of topics.
Provides access to NBC's video archive, NBC News, Today Show, sports and 26 subject collections. Researchers may download playlists and video to insert in course-related materials. Partner content from Washington Post and others.