The Dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity, and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
With some 2,500 entries, this dictionary, the first reference guide of its kind, is designed as a comprehensive reference work on all aspects of American immigration history. All American ethnic groups are included, with essay-entries on general subjects, e.g., immigration, patterns of immigrant settlement in the U.S., socialization, acculturation, and related themes.
Traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Every major immigrant group and every era are fully documented and examined through detailed analysis on social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors.
The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
by Julia R. Miller; Richard M. Lerner; Lawrence B. Schiamberg; Trustees of Tufts University Staff; Pamela M. Anderson
Publication Date: 2003-08-13
The first-and only-source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live.
This eight-volume set includes information on racial and ethnic groups, individuals, events, legislation, and movements. Also provides entries on a broad variety of general topics and themes that may often transcend racial and ethnic issues, such as student activism in the 1960s, the Boy Scouts, and anti-feminism. Includes many illustrations; longer entries include brief bibliographies.
Provides data and statistics on Asian Americans, African Americans, Latinos/Latinas, American Indians, and "whites" in the U.S., focusing on topics such as education, health, households and living arrangements, housing, income, labor force, population, and wealth & spending. Compiled originally for marketing research, but useful for other applications as well.
This set covers 161 non-indigenous cultural groups and European groups. From the Acadians to the Zoroastrians, it discusses the unique cultural characteristics of each group including detailed immigration and settlement histories, language, economic patterns, housing, religion, marriage, family and kinship, relations with other ethnic groups, as well as discrimination experienced by the group.
Timely and authoritative information on a crucial world problem is found in this work, a volume in ABC-Clio's new series, Encyclopedias of the Human Experience. It covers two kinds of topics: definitions of terms pertinent to the study of ethnic relations (e.g., ethnocentrism, genocide, irredentism) and descriptive profiles of 38 contemporary ethnic conflicts.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish.
This encyclopedia discusses every known American film [until 1960] with a connection (behind or in front of the camera) to ethnicity. Arranged alphabetically, the entries include plot summaries, principal actors and directors. There are chronological, personal name, subject, ethnic category, and foreign language indexes.
This stand-alone two-volume set offers a wealth of first-hand insights into the experiences of approximately 90 U.S. ethnic groups and perfectly complements the essay approach of the Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.