Social Science Librarian
Stephen (Social Sciences) Woods
He/him/his
Contact:
Office: 208 Paterno Library, University Park
Phone: 814.865.0665
Penn State Data Resources
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer provides easy access to census, crime, health, covid, elections, environmental, business, education and a wealth of common federal statistics. Create maps or reports.
-
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new windowWealth of federal statistics normalized over time.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowIncludes a variety of federal statistics and important indicators in a broad array of topics. Allows the user to create maps or reports. Includes purged data: CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), and the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST)
-
SAGE Stats (Business Stats) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Stats provides access to historic, current, and projected demographic and industry data at the state, county, ZIP code, and metropolitan statistical area level.
Data Archives & Alternative Sources
-
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowICPSR has a number of thematic collections for Federal Agencies such as the Office of Justice, Census, and Department of Aging just to name a few.
-
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) ProgramFunded by USAID DHS conducts more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries focusing on health and population trends in developing countries.
-
re3data.orgIndex of data repositories you can search find federal government data that has been archived.
-
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)Sponsored by the Minnesota Population Center
IPUMS provides a rich collection of census, health, and workforce data. -
FRED Economic Data: Federal Reserve of St. LouisRich set of time series data from government and non-government sources.
-
National Bureua of Economic Research: Public Use Data ArchiveArchives Census and economic data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Data Rescue
-
Data Rescue Tracker (Data Rescue Project)The Data Rescue Tracker is a collaborative tool built to catalog existing public data rescue efforts so that we can coordinate better across initiatives.
-
DataLumos [ICPSR]DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
-
Environmental and Data Governance InitiativeThe Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right-to-Know (ERTK).
-
The Public Environmental Data PartnersVolunteer coalition of several environmental, justice and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work.
-
Silencing Science TrackerJoint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund.
-
Climate Mirror ProjectTrying to mirror and safely archive U.S. Govt. websites and datasets related to climate, climate change, and global warming.
-
Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection (Harvard University, Boston University)Collection of data sets focusing on climate change. Includes CDC's Social Vulnerability Index data {Biden}.