Social Science Librarian
Keeping Informed
- U.S Government Information: Weekly Roundup (2019-present)This site is maintained by a government informaiton specialist at UC San Diego. Provides current awareness of federal reports and activities through collection of news articles, agency press releases and executive actions..
- Presidential Documents: Federal RegisterSite includes: executive orders, proclamations, and other presidential documents
- Penn State Office of the Senior Vice President for ResearchImpact of excutive orders on federal funding
Organizations News
- News: Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS)The Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS) represents researchers, educators, civic groups and businesses that rely on the quality and accessibility of statistics collected by the federal government.
- Council of Social Science Associations: Washington UpdateBiweekly COSSA Washington Update newsletter provides members and the public with comprehensive coverage of policy developments impacting social and behavioral science research.
- Free Government Information (2004-present)a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information.
- Association of Public Data UsersThe Association of Public Data Users (APDU) is a national network that links users, producers, and disseminators of government statistical data. APDU members share a vital concern about the collection, dissemination, preservation, and interpretation of public data.
- Data Curation NetworkThe Data Curation Network (DCN) is a membership organization of institutional and non-profit data repositories whose vision is to advance open research by making data more ethical, reusable, and understandable.
- RDAP AssociationResearch Data Access & Preservation organization that supports best practices for research data access and preservation.
- National Academies: Committee on National Statisticsprovide advice to the federal government and the nation grounded in the current best scientific knowledge and practice that will lead to improved statistical methods and information upon which to base public policy.
Citing & End of Term
If you are going to used harvest data (Internet Archive or other harvest sites like NARA or the Library Congress) you should include that information in your citation.
Publication or Website
MLA provides this example:
They provided the following example: McDonald, R. C. “Basic Canary Care.” _Robirda Online_. 12 Sept. 2004. 18 Dec. 2006 [http://www.robirda.com/cancare.html]. _Internet Archive_. [ http://web.archive.org/web/20041009202820/http://www.robirda.com/cancare.html].
Federal Data
If you are going to cite government data from an archive or mirror site you need to include them in your citation as well.
United States Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Census of Jails, 2019. Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2022-03-30. https://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR38323.v1