Contact the Librarian at your campus for more help!
University Park / World Campus:
(KMS454@psu.edu or 814-863-5521)
(DXF19@psu.edu or 215-881-7425
(ARZ10@psu.edu or 814-949-5250)
(ALD120@psu.edu or 724-773-3791)
(DBS21@psu.edu or 610-396-6261)
(JLI4@psu.edu or 814-898-7278)
(JLD575@psu.edu or 724-430-4156)
(BAL19@psu.edu or 717-948-6360)
(JMJ12@psu.edu or 610-285-5119)
Finding Children's Literature at Penn State
Many Penn State libraries have children's and young adult literature, sometimes called "Juvenile Literature." Age/grade levels, genres, and other focuses of these collections vary depending on each campus's needs.
To search children's/YA materials at Penn State libraries:
Best resource for exploring children's/young adult literature. Allows you to search for titles by genre, age/grade level, reading level, award/honor status, and many other criteria. Provides reviews, teacher resources, and more.
CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries dating back to 1922. Also included are 330,000 and author illustrator links. Subscribers can search by keyword, author, title and subject; and filter by reading level, age, grade and interest level; and then view, sort and distribute the resulting information. In addition, CLCD includes Teaching Tools which shows links to hundreds of web sites with lesson plans and teaching guides.
Biography, criticism, and other information about children's/young adult authors.
Biography, criticism, recommended reading, and other information about authors of children's and young adult literature. Covers more than 12,000 individuals, from Caldecott and Newbery award-winners to the latest writers.
On the right side of the page, click on "Advanced Search"
Under "Keywords Anywhere," type in your topic, such as "mathematics" or "reading"
If you only want to search the closest Penn State library, under "In Library," choose your nearest campus (such as "University Park Libraries" or "Penn State Harrisburg")
Under "Material Type," choose "Instructional Material"
If you want recent items, under "Publication Date" type in a range of years (such as 2010-2020).
Click on the blue "Search" button
Note the "Call number" and "Location" of each item you want
To order an item from another location, click on "I WANT IT"
Instructional materials are cataloged, organized, and loaned by varying methods depending on the location. Before visiting, contact the owning library to learn about opening hours, borrowing rules, etc.