To assist the community of Penn State faculty and students interested in exploring the field of crime, law and justice, this page has been developed to help you locate library resources.
This resource can provide you with background information as well as pros and cons for many public policy topics related to criminal justice.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Great for discovering broad policy issues from a global perspective.
CQ Global Researcher articles are freely available to all CQ Researcher customers on the CQ Researcher site. CQ Global Researcher content provides students with definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.
Database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
Database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
Policy resources from think tanks and interests groups with an international focus.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
This research guide identifies resource that will provide you access to law reviews, scholarly articles and media sources.
Note: A law review journal is a journal typically published by students at a law school or a bar association. Often these are reviews of legal cases and a discussion of legal issues and are not considered empirical research. They will often be used by lawyers to discover relevant cases for their client's case.
United States Congress & Public Policy
These resources provide excellent summaries of United States public policy issues discussed in Congress on a weekly basis. Broader topics are discussed further in the almanac and multi-year resources listed below.
Great policy papers written by researcher connected with the Library of Congress
Research papers written by the Library of Congress for the use of Congress. Provide objective, non-partisan analysis of public policy issues before the legislature. Full text PDF of reports.