These professional education videos by Microtraining Associates feature and are recommended by Dr. Carlos Zalaquett of Penn State's CNED program:
Mindscape Commons Moments of Excellence in Counseling series"Created by and available only in Mindscape Commons, these 10-15 minute interactive videos demonstrate positive relationship techniques, specifically in a School Counseling setting. Videos address empathy, goal setting, positive regard, alliance ruptures, stages of change, culture, coping style, client preferences, evaluating suicide, and more. Learners will be asked to answer assessment questions sprinkled throughout the video for increased engagement and understanding."
Basic Attending Skills, 5th Edition"he Basic Attending Skills, 5th edition video teaches students how to learn and master the fundamental skills of listening.
This video is designed for all courses focusing on listening skills, and applicable to many academic areas including counseling, social work, behavioral health, nursing, pastoral care, and para professional work such as crisis counseling and peer support groups.
Demonstrations of skills with many subtitles identify enable students to recognize interview behavior, practice skills in small groups, and then generalize skills to the actual interview. Multicultural issues are infused throughout."
Basic Influencing Skills, 4th Edition"This is a completely new series with relevant and important options for your classroom. Students will observe the specifics of influencing skills in reality based demonstrations with many subscripts and discussion questions.Here is what you'll find on the new Basic Influencing Skills DVD: Listening Skills, Client Change Scale, Confrontation, Focusing, Reflection of Meaning/The Community Genogram, Reframing/Interpretation, Feedback/Self Disclosure, Logical Consequences, Directives/Psychoeducation, Integration of Skills."
Basic Stress Management, Disc 1"This instructional video, featuring therapists Allen and Mary Ivery, Norma Gluckstern-Packard and Carlos Zalaquett, is about basic stress management."
Basic Stress Management, Disc 2"This instructional video, featuring therapists Allen and Mary Ivery, Norma Gluckstern-Packard and Carlos Zalaquett, is about basic stress management."
Advanced Microskills: Focusing, Meaning Confrontation"Dealing with difficult issues in the interview requires the ability to help clients focus on key issues and find meaning in suffering. In addition, skillful challenging and confronting can help clients face issues and grow. Particularly useful for Practicum and advanced students."
Hundreds of hours of recorded therapeutic counseling sessions with actual therapists and clients.
Counseling and Therapy in Video is an online video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling - over 2400 hours and more than 2000 videos of actual, re-enacted, and scripted therapy sessions. Includes searchable transcripts to find footage of interest. Many videos include Teaching and Discussion Guides, and a number are eligible for Continuing Education (C.E) Credits as indicated.
An online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. Presents and documents hundreds of virtual reality experiences, serious games, and apps that support teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Mindscape Commons is an online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents hundreds of virtual reality experiences. It also includes serious games and apps that support teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Helpful if you are designing a research project. Explains social science research methods, including qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Our access is to: SRM Core Update 2020-2025; SRM Cases (includes updates through 2025); SRM Cases 2.
Helps you identify questionnaires and tests to use in your research.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Provides full-text reviews thousands of testing instruments for psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides access to full-text reviews of over 3000 testing instruments for psychology, education, business, and leadership. Also included in this database is Tests in Print, a bibliography providing information on accessing known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Additional questionnaires and tests to use in your research.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. The majority of tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. However, HaPI also includes tests used in medically related disciplines such as psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy. For more information on the HaPI database, please click here.