State Job Banks is one of the components of CareerOneStop. This "integrated suite of national web sites" is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor in partnership with other federal agencies, state governments, and private sector organizations.
This database provides company descriptions, lists of competitors, financial information, and more. Strength of this database is its coverage of private companies. It also contains limited industry information and news.
Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.
This database contains reports that identify industry trends, industry leaders, and outlook for an industry. There is also limited company information.
IBISWorld provides over 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, and information on over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of economic and demographic profiles. Subscription includes access to the US Industry State Reports module.
This investment-oriented database provides concise company and industry analyses.
Value Line is the standard investment advisory service. The Web research center provides access to the standard Value Line Investment Survey and to its related resources. For historical Value Line Investment Surveys back to 1997, select "VLIS & SMC - Historical Archives" from the Dashboard.
Use this database to retrieve full-text articles on companies, industries, and other business topics.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
In this cleverly constructed guide, Aujla presents the tried-and-tested steps to not only getting hired, but also the secrets to staying motivated and energized throughout the job hunting process. Filled with practical quick-step exercises, this book is designed so you can pick your path through the process, starting where it feels the most natural- - Feeling stuck? Start by sending a "looking for a job" email to five close friends. - Not sure what sort of job you want? Write some creative nonfiction about yourself. - Feeling overwhelmed? Learn the benefits of forty-five minutes of unplugged bliss. - Going on an interview? Practice with a conversation guide.
He wants to do something new, maybe a little bit righteous. She sees herself leading a nonprofit or creating a medical device that saves lives in the remotest parts of the world. However, the search process has changed radically from the last time they looked for a job. Like many job seekers, they've done a lot and can do a lot. But, recruiters can't see past old job titles to recognize how a candidate can contribute to the work force in new ways. And worse, the candidate feels tongue-tied for the first time in their career. In The Art of Finding the Job You Love, Cara Heilmann, CEO of Ready Reset Go®, offers a fresh, safe, and unconventional way to help job seekers speak their talents and passion to make a difference through their work. She connects the worlds of comedy and recruiting with a look behind the curtain to share what hiring managers are really looking for and reveals why the more successful people are, the more they wing interview prep--and how that can work against them. Readers learn how to: Get clear on the targeted job to make everything easier Create (at least) five riveting career stories that must be in every job seeker's toolbox Understand how to connect with chemistry during the interview process--even for the most introverted introvert Make a lasting positive impression that sticks well after the interview The Art of Finding the Job You Love helps job seekers craft compelling career stories and communicate them in a way that leaves hiring managers wanting more and job seekers with the opportunity to make a difference in the world through a career they love!
When we apply for a job, we are essentially trying to sell ourselves. If we understand the process of marketing, we can make that sale a lot easier. This requires a plan that includes a deep understanding of our target audiences, an understanding of our strengths and weaknesses, an understanding of the benefits we can offer, and a knowledge of the 4 Ps, product, place, price and promotion. Add to this, an ability to differentiate and position ourselves in the crowded marketplace and to use promotional tactics to rise to the top of the applicant pool, we can get the job of our dreams. When we master these skills, we make the chore of getting a great job, the job we want, more a certainty than a hopeful wish. This book will show you how to network better, how to create an effective email pitch, write a powerful resume and cover letter, and how to persuade recruiters that you offer the most value to satisfy their needs. This book will make you a pro at marketing yourself!
"This generous and useful book strips away the shame and fear from a job search and can help you get past the resume and see a better way forward." --Seth Godin, bestselling author of This is Marketing If you're struggling to find work in an uncertain job market, Next Job, Best Job by headhunter Rob Barnett delivers game changing strategies to get you hired now. For readers at any phase of a career, Barnett saves you months of wasted time surfing random job postings and uploading resumes into oblivion. His new process gives you the end-to-end tools to find the work you want. Rob Barnett is an innovator, a two-time entrepreneur, and a senior executive with five decades inside legendary media companies. As an advisor to thousands of job seekers and company heads, he is uniquely positioned to disrupt the job search industry. His inclusive platform is a life-saving escape hatch during the darkest hours of unemployment and an expert guide to the work you deserve. With humor, compassion, and a healthy dose of tough love, Barnett covers everything from the essentials of a modern job search to ageism, ghosting, navigating LinkedIn and Zoom, and mastering the voodoo of social media. Pivot from worrying to winning with inspired steps to: Score perfect job interviews Negotiate like a pro and get to "yes" Rebrand yourself with a unique resume, digital profile, and killer cover letter Ignite focus and restore motivation Identify the best career path Define the right job title Get immediate replies and callbacks Master networking Banish self-defeating thoughts Embrace success Pay it forward New strategies replace ancient job search rules that lead nowhere. Rise above every other candidate with an empowering, easy method that finally works. "Rob Barnett reimagines today's career search and offers a proven process to land the right job (or client) fast." --Small Business Trends "(Barnett) leads the reader through a birth-to-earth version of job search, starting with being fired or laid off and culminating in his advice for negotiating the next offer. He peppers the steps along the way with anecdotes from his own experience and the kind of advice meant to help you keep the job once you land it." --St. Paul Pioneer Press
GPS to Employment Success: How to Find and Succeed in the Right Job is a career resource that contains a treasure trove of straightforward, pithy job search and career advice, 125 tips, and stories from an employment expert. This career advancement and networking guide also identifies inconvenient truths that are not commonly known but are useful to have in your career toolkit. GPS to Employment Success also addresses: The importance of preparing mentally, physically, and emotionally for a roller-coaster job search; How to adopt NBA star forward LeBron James' career strategy for personal career goals; How to develop a career plan and strategy, and the need to execute a career strategy; Looking for employment in a virtual world; How a former NFL athlete asked a stranger for help and changed the trajectory of his life. A Career Toolkit that contains useful, informative, time-saving material is included.