Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Athlete Research Guide - Beaver Campus

LionSearch Basics

For full text items, click the "full text online" link to go to the full text of the article.

  • If you see the Penn State "GetIt" menu and you need to click the word "article" to get to the full text. 
  • If there is no "article" link, click the word "journal" to get to the journal page and look for the correct year, volume, issue and pages for the article you need.
Tip: Save the relevant sources into the LionSearch temporary folder by clicking on the small folder icon to right side of the item.  When you are finished compiling your sources, click on the folder icon at the top of the screen and email or print (which allows you to copy into your clipboard) the references so you can easily add them to your project. 
 
CAVEAT: computer systems make mistakes when auto-formatting.  
Don’t lose your work!  Unless you sign up for Refworks, items are saved in LionSearch ONLY for your current session.  You won’t be able to go back later and see a list of saved items.

Basic book searching

  • Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
  • Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it. 
  • For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

Helpful Databases

Choosing a Research Topic

  • Choose a topic that interests you and corresponds to your assignment. Researching something that you have a passion about will make the work more fulfilling in the end. 
  • Try using background information to help focus on the topic. General reference works such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, and your textbook can help with this.
  • Identify the main concepts of your topic and start composing a list of keywords or search terms for your searches. Use these search terms to research your topic in the library's online catalog, reference books, periodical indexes, and on the Web.
  • Research topics aren't set in stone and choosing a research topic isn't always a straightforward process. As you begin to look for articles on your initial topic, your research idea may evolve along a new path. That's okay! It's all part of the research process.