Scrapbook from the pivotal leader, John Chorey, and union organizer in the Pittsburgh area steel industry during the formative years of the Steel Workers Organizing Committee (SWOC) and Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO).
The collection contains archival materials highlighting Curtiss' activities as a Steel Workers Organizing Committee staff representative and organizer, and United Steelworkers of America district director.
This collection from the steel industry labor official Harold Rasmussen contains archival materials on the Amalgamated Association of Iron, Steel and Tin Workers, SWOC, the Congress of Industrial Organizations, and the United Steelworkers of America
Medrick’s papers include diaries, scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, legal documents, and organizing records from across his involvement with the United Mineworkers of American and the United Steelworkers of America from roughly 1922 to 1964. The materials in this collection document Medrick’s role in various striking efforts include the Bituminous Coal Strike of 1927 and the Steel Strike of 1959, as well as Medrick’s as an organizer in West Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Kentucky.
These materials contain scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, records, photographs, and artifacts relating to both Murray’s career and personal life with the bulk of materials covering the years between 1936 and 1952. The scrapbooks document key moments in organizing history, including the first Carnegie Illinois Steel Corporation SWOC contract, proposals for peace between the AFL and CIO, and the Philip Murray and John L. Lewis feud, among others.
These records consist of materials from United Steelworkers of America District 33, which coordinated local unions in the iron region of Minnesota and upper Michigan from 1942 to 1955. This collection includes local union contracts and correspondence as well as conference records, administrative files, scrapbooks, minute books, and photographs from approximately 1937 to 1985. The records cover various topics related to the organizing effort including district restructuring, the steel strikes of 1946 and 1959, and the campaign visit of John F. Kennedy in 1960, among others.
These digital surrogates consist of a commemorative scrapbook Fleming created to document an event honoring Pressed Steel Car Company's production in service of World War II. The scrapbook documents a company event honoring the efforts of workers who awarded the Army-Navy "E" Production Award on March 23, 1943. During World War II, the Pressed Steel Car Company successfully mobilized and converted from peace time production to produce tanks and bomb shell casings for the war effort. The documentation includes: photographs, an event program, two promotional broadsides, event ribbons, and letters of invitation to corporate dignitaries and legislators.