Includes Civil War and African American newspapers.
Accessible Archives provides access to the full texts of articles from a selection of 18th & 19th century American newspapers (more than 175,000 articles). The newspapers selected are especially useful for researching African American, women's studies, and Pennsylvania topics but can also help with many other types of historical research. Keywords: Civil War, colonial, revolution, Revolutionary War, abolition, abolitionists, slavery.
Includes some early titles, although the majority of the content is from the late 19th century and later.
Beginning with the Freedom's Journal (NY)--the first African American newspaper published in the United States--this database includes page reproductions of African American newspapers from every region of the United States.
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society.
Over 7,000 full-text magazines including many rare and unique titles from the American Antiquarian Society. Most are American magazines with a few Canadian and British Empire titles. Contains early publications in many subjects; religion, medicine, science and technology, agriculture, music, art, education, and business as well as publications focusing on children, women, Native Americans and African-Americans.
Mostly 20th century titles, but includes issues of the Cherokee Phoenix from the 19th century.
98 titles including bi-lingual and indigenous language publications from the United States and Canada. Includes some key 19th century titles, but most publications were founded in the 1970s reflecting the rise of the American Indian movement and the proliferation of Indigenous journalism.
General interest and specialized magazines and journals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
Online newspapers from various states published before 1923
A searchable full-text collection of hundreds of papers selected by U.S. states as part of the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program. Dates range from 1789 to 1922, but available content varies for each newspaper. Searches can be limited by state, newspaper, language, or date. The site also includes a separately searchable newspaper directory which provides information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Directory searches can be used to identify newspapers by place of publication, date, keyword, frequency, language, and type of newspaper.
Use to identify newspapers in our collection by city, state, format, language, or time period.
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
Newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Full-text database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Includes major American papers such as the NY Times, Chicago Tribune, and a collection of American Magazines going back to the 18th Century
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
Search several historical news databases including the Times of London, Illustrated London News, and the 17th and 18th Century British Newspapers collection
The Gale NewsVault allows researchers to cross-search historical newspaper collections, including the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century US Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault allows the most effective searching across many newspapers.
Full texts of hundreds of magazines and journals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.
Full texts of hundreds of journals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. Includes some of the major magazines as well as specialized titles in literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.