Documents on American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the twentieth century.
American Indian Histories and Cultures is a digital collection providing insight into American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers. Taken from the collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Includes issues of the Cherokee Advocate and the Cherokee Phoenix from the 19th century, as well as 20th century Native American titles.
98 titles including bi-lingual and indigenous language publications from the United States and Canada. Includes some key 19th century titles, but most publications were founded in the 1970s reflecting the rise of the American Indian movement and the proliferation of Indigenous journalism.
Documents in 18th and 19th century america, including considerable material on Native Americans
Original documents exchanged between the governors of British colonies in North America and the Caribbean and the Colonial Office in Britain. Among the correspondence are diaries, maps, broadsides, laws, public notices, newspaper clippings, and more covering all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history. Many of the documents are handwritten and are not keyword searchable. They can be searched by date, name, region and topics including; early settlements, Native Americans, Trade, Wars, Slavery and the slave trade. Penn State has access to Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries and Module 2: Towards Revolution
Laws and legislative reports issues by, or submitted to the U.S. Congress. The best source for documents on U.S. government policy relating to Native Americans in the 19th century.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous
Includes the American Indian Law Collection an archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and cases.
Hein Online is a full-text research collection offering more than 900 legal journals; federal publications such as the Federal Register, U.S. treaties and agreements, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court competition materials.
Documents from the Panton, Leslie & Company a key source of information for the study of American Indians of the Southeast. For many years Panton, Leslie & Company dominated trade with the Creeks and Seminoles
Documents from the Panton, Leslie & Company a key source of information for the study of American Indians of the Southeast. For many years Panton, Leslie & Company dominated trade with the Creeks and Seminoles. They eventually captured much of the trade with the Choctaws and Chickasaws, and were important in the trade with the Cherokees.
Letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and others.
Prior to 1824, Indian Affairs were under the control ofthe Secretary of War. This collection consists of the letters received by andletters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indiansuperintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and Stategovernors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and othercommissioners, and persons having commercial dealings with the WarDepartment, and other public and private individuals.
An oral history collection spanning from 1861 to 1936. It includes interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories
Correspondence (1824-1881) of Pitchlynn with prominent citizens and family members in the Choctaw Nation regarding events and troubles within the nation; Pitchlynn's personal journals (1815); Pitchlynn's diary (1828-1832); official reports (1825-1841) of the Choctaw Academy and Missionary Station in Kentucky.