Skip to main content

EDUC 586: Educational Research Designs

Welcome to the library guide for Dr. Tyler Love's EDUC 586 course!

Education Resources

Penn State University Libraries offers LIBRARY GUIDES as resources to help you get started using our resources.

Guides by Subject offer broad advice on research strategies based on subject.

Course Guides (such as this one for EDUC 586) offer research guidance based on specific courses.

How to Guides offer general help on using the libraries and conducting research.

You can explore all the Library Guides using the link below:

Below you will find some Education Subject Guides which may be helpful to explore.

Explore some of the education titles in the Credo Academic Core Collection (available via the link below and from the Database list on the University Libraries' home page).

Background sources can be used as a source for ideas and as a starting point for your topic.

Choose Titles from the drop-down menu under the BROWSE tab at the top of the page.

You can Narrow Your Results by Subjects on the left-side of the screen. Click on Education to see all the Education titles in this database. Browse through some of the titles for topics and research ideas.

Some of the titles include:

  • Education at a Glance 2016
  • Gender and Education
  • Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
  • Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Philosophy: Education

EXAMPLE 1

Look at the Contents for the Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Philosophy: Education

Part Two deals with education in terms of other broad areas; such as race, democracy, and creativity. Chapter 14 takes a look at friendship and education, providing an overview of the topic that could serve as a useful starting point for research in this area.

Articles from reference sources such as this are often not considered acceptable sources for assignments, but can often lead you to sources that are acceptable. The following, from the References in the Bibliography of this article, could prove to be useful:

“Should We Take the Friendships of Children Seriously?”

Using the FIND box on the University Libraries' home page (or the box below), you can locate the full text of this article.

The full text appears in the Academic Search Complete database. One way to see other articles related to this topic is to click one of the Subject Terms links. Clicking Childhood Friendships yields almost 500 results. Limit those results (from the left-hand side of the page) to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to cut that number down by about half.

By choosing relevant articles that have been published recently, you are more likely to find up-to-date references cited in their reference lists.


EXAMPLE 2

Look at the Contents for the Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Philosophy: Education

Part Three deals with some educational questions, such as "Should schools have dress codes?" This lengthy topic overview article provides important background information on the question and, although this article itself might not be acceptable for your bibliography, it helps you focus on different aspects of the topic and provides references to some acceptable types of sources in its Bibliography.

Using the FIND box on the University Libraries' home page (or the box below), you can locate the following book and scholarly journal article:

Uniforms in Public Schools: A Decade of Research and Debate

"Effects of Student Uniforms on Attendance, Behavior Problems, Substance Use, and Academic Achievement"


Search below:

Loading ...